Three graduates of the University of Missouri will be among the U.S. senators who take the oath of office Jan. 3.

They are Claire McCaskill, Missouri, Martin Heinrich, New Mexico, and Tim Kaine, Virginia.

Heinrich graduated in 1995 with a degree in mechanical engineering. McCaskill’s 1975 degree was in political science. Kaine’s 1979 diploma was in economics.

Kaine is a former governor of Virginia.

All three lawmakers told the AP that their experiences attending MU have helped shape their attitudes as public officials.