In the second year of restarted Missourian All-Area softball team, it was another big season for the Sullivan Lady Eagles.

Sullivan captured the two major awards in this year’s voting with Head Coach Ashley Crump and pitcher Addison Purvis earning the top spots.

Area softball teams enjoyed another banner year in 2017 with three schools winning district titles. Washington, Borgia and Sullivan claimed district championships. Borgia and Sullivan reached the Class 3 quarterfinal round.

Crump repeated as coach of the year in voting by 13 area coaches and media members. She received 48 poll points to finish 17 in front of Borgia’s Andrew Eggert. Washington’s Philip King was third in the voting.

Purvis, Sullivan’s sophomore pitcher, was a unanimous choice by voters for the player of the year award. She earned 65 points to win the award. Borgia junior pitcher Lizzie Lynchard was second at 19 points and Union sophomore shortstop Lauren Boyd, the 2016 player of the year, was third at 12 points.

Purvis was the Four Rivers Conference player of the year and made the all-conference, all-district and all-region teams. As a pitcher, she went 22-3 with a 1.25 ERA. Over 146 innings, she allowed 81 hits and 26 walks while striking out 252 batters. At the plate, Purvis batted .667 with 14 doubles, three triples and 13 home runs. She scored 21 times and drove in 54.

For the All-Area two-player pitching staff, Purvis was the top vote-getter and was one of only four players to receive first-team votes on every ballot. Lynchard was the other first-team pitcher.

At the catcher position, St. James’ Mikaela Donnelly was voted to the first-team.

The four first-team infielders were Borgia’s Josie Lindemann, Union’s Boyd, Pacific’s Annie Mueller and St. Clair’s Mikayla Weirich.

Lindemann, who played first base for Borgia, was a unanimous selection. Boyd and Weirich played shortstop for their respective teams. Mueller played third base.

Another unanimous selection was Washington’s record-setting senior center fielder, Nichole Brinker. She was joined in the garden by Sullivan’s Hanna Johanning and Pacific’s Lilly Prichard.

Another unanimous pick was at the DH-DP-Utility position, where Sullivan’s Hannah Cox received all of the first-team votes.

Selected for the second team were:

• Washington pitcher Ellie Quaethem;

• Union pitcher Kelsie Hardester;

• Borgia catcher Beth Obermark;

• Washington infielder Jena Monehan;

• Pacific infielder Kaylie Kaufman;

• Sullivan infielder Kloey Blanton;

• New Haven infielder Emily Scheer;

• St. Clair outfielder Trisa Buffer;

• Borgia outfielder Elizabeth Smith;

• Owensville outfielder Ella Wright; and

• Washington DH-DP-Utility player Taylor Hendrix.

Third-team selections were:

• Pacific pitcher Megan Meyers;

• St. James pitcher Kayla Hamilton;

• Union catcher Amanda Downing;

• Sullivan infielder Emma Weirich;

• Union infielder Georgie Bray;

• Union infielder Sydney Eads;

• Owensville infielder Chloe Sooter;

• Borgia outfielder MJ Maguire;

• St. James outfielder Baylee Ambrose;

• Sullivan outfielder Morgan Bobbitt; and

• Pacific DH-DP-Utility player Madison Greco.

Honorable mention selections, by position, were:

• Pitcher — Owensville’s Kaylee Abney;

• Catcher — Sullivan’s Madison Decker, Pacific’s Grace Burrows and Hermann’s Grace Hoener;

• Infield — Washington’s Jessica Huxol, St. James’ Hunter Pitts, Pacific’s Emma Smiley, St. Clair’s Desi York-Nunn, Borgia’s Maria Bohle, Borgia’s Dani Kimminau, Borgia’s Brianna Moritz, Sullivan’s Kamryn Lohden and Washington’s Caitlyn Vodnansky; and

• Outfield — Union’s Elisabeth Scharfenberg, Washington’s Sarah Becszlko and Washington’s Emma Piar-Shaw.