A state champion will be crowned in Washington this weekend.

Games will start Wednesday at 11 a.m. for the American Legion Baseball Freshmen State Tournament. 

The first round will continue until Washington Post 218 (19-4), two-time defending state champion, takes on the District 14 runner-up, Jackson Post 158 (13-8), at 6:30 p.m. Wednesday

Union Post 297 and Hannibal Post 55 are also among the field from the Ninth District. After finishing behind Washington and Union in the regular season district standings, Post 55 upset both teams in the district postseason tournament.

Union was the regular season champion, going undefeated in district play, and finished second to Hannibal in the district tournament.

Union (21-4) draws District 4 representative Gladstone Herrick Memorial Post 626 (3-7) in the first round Wednesday at 1:30 p.m.

Hannibal (17-6-2) will take on the District 13 champion, Ste. Genevieve Post 150 (16-5), at 4 p.m.

The other first-round contest features the Branson Pirates (18-10-1) against the District 14 champion, Cape Girardeau Post 63 (17-15), to kick off the first round at 11 a.m.

Of the teams outside the Ninth District, only Branson played an opponent from that district.

The Pirates earned a 4-3 victory against Elsberry Post 226 on June 2. 

Hannibal went 2-1 against Elsberry in the regular season.

Washington topped Post 226, 8-6, in the regular season and 5-4 in the district tournament.

Union defeated Elsberry, 6-0, in their only meeting.

Washington, Cape Girardeau, Jackson and Ste. Genevieve all shared an opponent in Festus Post 253.

Post 218 topped Festus, 11-0, in Washington’s preseason tournament back in May.

Cape swept Festus in a doubleheader on June 4, 17-6 and 18-11.

Jackson swept Festus in a doubleheader on June 6, 11-1 and 19-11, but lost to Post 253, 7-6, on June 17.

Ste. Genevieve topped Festus on three separate occasions, 16-0 on June 10, 26-0 on June 20 and 10-0 on July 2.

Cape Girardeau saw plenty of both Jackson and Ste. Genevieve already this season.

Jackson posted a 4-3 record against Cape this year, but Cape won three of the final four meetings.

Cape went 2-1 in meetings with Ste. Genevieve.

Washington and Union both played De Soto SCMI, an opponent shared with Cape Girardeau, Jackson and Ste. Genevieve.

Post 297 topped De Soto, 5-2, on May 19, in the Washington preseason tournament.

Post 218 won, 7-3, against De Soto on June 10.

De Soto went 3-1 against Cape in the regular season. Cape’s only win against De Soto was by an 8-7 score in the second game of a doubleheader on May 27. De Soto won 11-10 on May 24, 4-1 in the first game of the May 27 doubleheader and 6-1 on June 17.

De Soto beat Jackson, 9-8, on June 17, in a game that followed the De Soto-Cape contest on the same day.

Ste. Genevieve went 4-0 against De Soto with a 5-4 win on June 1, 6-4 on June 12, 9-7 on June 15 and 4-3 on July 3 in the winners’ bracket final for the 13th District.

Gladstone’s games occurred almost exclusively in the Kansas City and eastern Kansas area.

A district rematch between Washington and Hannibal could happen as early as the second round if both teams win Wednesday. If Washington and Union were both to lose in the first round, they would have to face each other in an elimination game in round two. Hannibal and Union could not potentially meet again until the winners’ bracket final or losers’ bracket semifinal.

Similar to the district tournament, it will take two losses to eliminate each team. Unlike the district tournament, teams will be using metal bats instead of wood.

Teams will each have one game to play Thursday with losers’ bracket games starting at 11 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. and winners’ bracket games at 4 p.m. and 6:30 p.m.

Two rounds of losers’ bracket games will take place Friday with the teams that survived Thursday’s elimination games taking on those knocked out of the winners’ bracket on Thursday at 11 a.m. and 1:30 p.m.

The winners’ bracket final takes place at 4 p.m.

The winners of the two earlier losers’ bracket games Friday play again at 6:30 p.m. for the right to advance to the final three.

The losers’ bracket final takes place at 1 p.m. Saturday with the winner taking on the survivor of the winners’ bracket at 4 p.m.

If both remaining teams have one loss after that contest, a championship game will take place Sunday at 1 p.m.