Taking advantage of the home mat advantage, the Union wrestling Wildcats swept a quad meet Tuesday.

Union won all three matches, including two huge Four Rivers Conference duals.

“I thought that we wrestled very well tonight in the quad,” Union Head Coach Justin Cranmer said. “We were focused, sharp, and took care of business quickly.

Union’s results were:

• Union defeated Warrenton, 53-27;

• Union defeated St. James, 57-18; and

• Union defeated Sullivan, 60-24.

“With these three wins our team record improved to 11-1 in duals this year,” Cranmer said. “We have four more duals so we could possibly get to 15 wins this year. It has been a great year so far but it is far from over. We have our sights set on another conference championship and getting a lot of kids to the state tournament. I think we can compete for a top 3 finish at districts this year and have a couple of state medalists.”

Cranmer said a dual meet against Pacific Jan. 31 at Union looks like it will determine the FRC championship.

“The dual against Pacific Jan. 31 at Union is setting up to be the conference championship dual again this year,” Cranmer said. “Just like last year they beat us in a dual at the Hillsboro tournament so we have something to prove. The guys are hungry and motivated to repeat as Four Rivers Conference champions. It will be a tough task beating Pacific this year though. They have some very good wrestlers and overall are a well coached team.”


“We came out against Warrenton in the first dual and the heart of the lineup did what it has all year and got the pin points that we needed to win the dual,” Cranmer said.

Union’s winners were:

• Colton Faber (113) by technical fall over Michaela Denny in 3:59, 15-0.

• Jordan Nowak (126) by pin over Seth Brierly in 30 seconds.

• Shane Foster (138) by pin over Jacob Hickl in 1:49.

“Alex Gaebe was out with an injury but he will be back soon,” Cranmer said. “Shane Foster stepped up and filled in for us and went 2-1 on the night. That really helped the team.”

• Devon Fennessey (145) by pin over Daniel Fillipek in 4:38.

• Cody Pace (152) by pin over Dakota Brierly in 1:45.

• Dalton Kuenzel (170) was unopposed.

“Cody Pace, Devin Fennessey, Dalton Kuenzel and Jordan Nowak continued to be dominating for us,” Cranmer said. “They all scored the maximum team points in each match, coming away with 11 pins and one forfeit between the four of them.”

• Grant Henry (182) by pin over Jacob Manion in 1:13;

• James Lewis (220) was unopposed; and

• Joe Lasky (285) was unopposed.

Warrenton’s winners were:

• Dominic Kennedy (106) was unopposed.

• Ryan Sherry (120) pinned Tyler Pace in 1:27.

• James Bishop (132) won 14-8 decision over Nick Ciaccio.

• Mason Timmenberg (160) pinned Jake Siddens in 5:00.

• JJ Fillipek (195) pinned Joseph Parrott in 50 seconds.

St. James

The Wildcats picked up a big Four Rivers Conference win over St. James, 57-18. Taking eight matches in a row by pins propelled the Wildcats to the win.

Union’s winners were:

• Tyler Pace (120) by 7-2 decision over Sean Hunter.

• Nowak (126) pinned Samuel Bunyard in 1:24.

• Fennessey (145) pinned Taylor Busche in 3:27.

• Cody Pace (152) pinned Grant Brooks in 1:01.

• Siddens (160) pinned Mason Ragland in 40 seconds.

• Kuenzel (170) pinned Marshall Woolsey in 3:31.

• Henry (182) pinned Robert Watson in 5:43.

• Parrott (195) pinned Jake Gleason in 2:36.

• Lewis (220) pinned Marcus Bradshaw in 4:00.

• Lasky (285) pinned Cordell Albin in 25 seconds.

St. James’ winners were:

• Daniel McCarthy (113) won a 2-0 decision over Faber.

• Daniel Davis (132) earned a 4-3 decision over Ciaccio.

• Dalton Gann (106) was unopposed.


Union closed the evening with a 60-24 victory over Sullivan. Every match ended with either a pin or forfeit.

Union’s winners were:

• Tyler Pace (120) pinned Nathaniel Cardonza in 31 seconds.

• Nowak (126) pinned Ryan Eastman in 1:19.

• Foster (138) pinned Emmie Blankenship in 2:46.

• Fennessey (145) pinned Toby Key in 51 seconds.

• Cody Pace (152) pinned Clayton Mayer in 1:53.

• Siddens (160) pinned Billy Corson in 2:49.

• Kuenzel (170) pinned Alexander Crooks in 1:31.

• Parrott (195) pinned Nick Frye in 5:02.

• Lasky (285) pinned Kishan Patel in 1:54.

• Faber (113) was unopposed.

Sullivan’s winners were:

• Chris Schreit (132) pinned Ciaccio in 2:31.

• Danton Creek (182) pinned Henry in 2:29.

• Luke Pryor (220) pinned Lewis in 2:43.

• Jacob Dixon (106) was unopposed.