Washington High School senior Luke Hasenjaeger has been named a high school scholar athlete by the National Football Foundation - St. Louis Tom Lombardo Chapter.

Hasenjaeger will be one of 12 high school football scholar athletes receiving a $1,000 scholarship and honored at the 21st Annual NFF Awards Banquet Sunday, May 5, at Orlando Gardens in St. Louis.

“It’s quite an honor. I didn’t know how big a recognition it was until I looked online and saw the people who have won it before,” Hasenjaeger said. “I’m looking forward to it. They’re going to show highlight videos of all the players honored and hang banners from all of their schools. I’m excited to see everyone else’s accomplishments.”

Hasenjaeger, a three-year starting quarterback for the WHS varsity football team, holds a 3.93 grade-point average and is ranked 25th academically in a class of 330.

Hasenjaeger also plays basketball and baseball for the Blue Jays. He will attend Missouri University of Science and Technology in Rolla, where he will play baseball.

“It’s a great award for Luke individually, but it’s also a great award for our school because it reflects the kind of kids we have. There are a lot of Lukes in our school who sometimes don’t necessarily get noticed,” said Washington Activities Director Bill Deckelman. “Luke is the kind of kid who you would want your son to grow up to be like. He’s a great all-around student athlete. He’s a student first and then an athlete.”

Hasenjaeger has proven to be the ultimate team player at WHS.

“I always looked up to (former WHS and Southeast Missouri State University quarterback) Matt Scheible when I was younger. I wanted to be like him,” Hasenjaeger said. “Hopefully I’ve set an example for some of the younger students in our school. I hope our younger guys think of me that way.”

Other scholar athletes to be honored will be Eureka’s Nate Echard, John Burroughs’ Xavier Bledsoe, Brentwood’s Nick Featherston, Timberland’s John Hummell III, Clayton’s David Neville, Waynesville’s Dylan Newcomb, Parkway South’s Jordan Noyes, St. Mary’s Brandon Polito, Gateway’s Bryant Williams, O’Fallon’s (Ill.) Darius Mosely and Collinsville’s (Ill.) Drew Pikey.

The players were nominated by their coaches and selected by a committee of former coaches, sports media and business leaders.

The most inspirational players to be honored are Festus’ Brandon Barton and Rockwood Summit’s Ben Tesson.

The top programs to be honored are St. Mary’s and Parkway Central.

The college scholar athlete to be honored is William Small of Washington University.

Troy Calhoun, head football coach of the Air Force Academy, will be the Tom Lombardo award recipient and guest speaker.

Randy Karraker of 101 ESPN in St. Louis will be the master of ceremonies.

The cost for the event is $55 per person or $525 for a table of 10.

To register, send name, phone number and address, along with a check made out to NFF &CHF - St. Louis Tom Lombardo Chapter to 848 Courtwood Lane, St. Louis, MO 63011.

For more details, call Bob Bunton at 636-891-8011.