Sullivan Receives Top Four Rivers Conference Boys Honors - The Missourian: Sports

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Sullivan Receives Top Four Rivers Conference Boys Honors

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, March 20, 2013 11:00 am

Tying for the Four Rivers Conference championship, the Sullivan Eagles earned the top two league honors this season.

In a vote of FRC coaches, Sullivan’s Dino McKinney was named the league’s coach of the year while Sullivan junior Justin Biermann was named player of the year.

Sullivan, which finished the season with a 19-9 record, went 6-1 in league play to tie St. Clair (13-14, 6-1) for the league title.

St. James and Pacific, who played key roles in determining the league championship tie, each went 5-2 in league play.

The St. James Tigers (24-4) lost to Sullivan on the final night while Pacific (16-10) handed St. Clair its first league defeat to ensure not only a two-way tie for first place, but also a two-way tie for third.

Hermann went 13-13 overall and 3-4 in league play to finish fifth. New Haven was 12-14 overall and 2-5 in league action to take sixth.

Union (6-19) went 1-6 in league play while Owensville (5-20) was winless in the conference this season.

Biermann, who also received All-FRC honors in the fall as a running back, defensive back and returner, was voted the league’s player of the year.

Biermann averaged 16.2 points, 7.9 rebounds, 3.5 assists, 4.6 steals and 0.22 of a blocked shot per game for the Eagles.

Biermann shot 53 percent from the field and 33.7 percent from beyond the three-point arc. He hit free throws at a 77-percent rate.

Four other players received unanimous FRC selection. They were:

• Pacific sophomore Cullen VanLeer;

• St. James senior Jack Mueller;

• St. James senior Jake Ford; and

• St. Clair senior Neyko Dominguez.

Also being named to the first team were:

• Hermann junior Craig Winkelmann;

• Sullivan senior Adam Weiland; and

• New Haven sophomore Kyle Ruediger.

Second-team selections were:

• Pacific junior Tanner Brown;

• Union senior Brandon Ford;

• St. Clair senior Adam Brott;

• Hermann junior Collin Hart;

• St. James junior Addison Conway;

• New Haven junior Seth Schenck; and

• Sullivan senior JC Beckett.

St. James sophomore Logan Courtois was named the league’s top sixth man.


Area Scoreboard

Boys Basketball

Monday, Jan. 26

^Rock Bridge 79, Northwest 27

^Lutheran South 76, Hillsboro 43

Owensville 41, Hermann 40

St. James 80, Montgomery County 39

Tuesday, Jan. 27

Jackson 65, Pacific 44

^Borgia 82,  Union 61

~Warrenton 69, Chamois 24

^Washington 49, St. Clair 45 (OT)

~Wright City 51, New Haven 37

*Bethel at Crosspoint    7:45 p.m.

Wednesday, Jan. 28

Fulton SA at Thomas Jefferson    6:30 p.m.

Thursday, Jan. 29

^Northwest vs. Hillsboro   5:30 p.m.

~Chamois vs. New Haven    6 p.m.

~Warrenton vs. Wright City    6 p.m.

^Union vs. St. Clair    7 p.m.

~Hermann vs. Montgomery Co    7:30 p.m.

~Owensville vs. St. James    7:30 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 30

^Rock Bridge vs. Lutheran South    5:30 p.m.

^Borgia vs. Washington    7 p.m.

*Providence at Crosspoint    7:30 p.m.

Eagle Ridge at Fulton SA    7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 31

^Seventh-place game    2:30 p.m.

~Seventh-place game    2:30 p.m.

^Consolation    4 p.m.

~Consolation    4 p.m.

^Third-place game    5:30 p.m.

~Third-place game    5:30 p.m.

^Championship    7 p.m.

~Championship    7 p.m.

%Washington Tournament

#South Callaway Tournament

^Union Tournament

~Hermann Tournament

Girls Basketball

Monday, Jan. 26

^Holt 60, Pacific 57

^Warrenton 42, Union 40

~Owensville 64,  Montgomery Co 32

Borgia 62, Cardinal Ritter 41

^St. Clair 64, Lutheran South 45

~Hermann 57, Wright City 26

Washington 74, Wentzville Liberty 19

Tuesday, Jan. 27

Fulton SA at Barat    4:30 p.m.

~New Haven 42, Montgomery Co 34

*Bethel at Crosspoint    6:15 p.m.

~Chamois 61, Wright City 20

Wednesday, Jan. 28

^Pacific vs. Union    4 p.m.

Fulton SA at Thomas Jefferson    5 p.m.

^Wentzvillr Liberty vs. Lutheran South     5:30 p.m.

~Owensville vs. New Haven    6 p.m.

^Holt vs. Warrenton    7 p.m.

~Hermann vs. Chamois    7:30 p.m.

^Washington vs. St. Clair    8:30 p.m.

Thursday, Jan. 29

*Borgia at Notre Dame    6:45 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 30

^Seventh-place game    4 p.m.

~Consolation    5 p.m.

^Consolation    5:30 p.m.

*Providence at Crosspoint    6 p.m.

Eagle Ridge at Fulton SA    6 p.m.

~Third-place game    6:30 p.m.

^Third-place game    7 p.m.

~Championship    8 p.m.

^Championship    8:30 p.m.

@Union Tournament

#South Callaway Tournament

^Washington Tournament

~Hermann Tournament


Tuesday, Jan. 27

*Pacific 42, St. Clair 33

Borgia 36, Hallsville 30

Helias 66, Borgia 21

Wednesday, Jan. 28

Borgia at Lutheran St. Charles    5 p.m.

Thursday, Jan. 29

Union at Farmington/Summit    5 p.m.

*Pacific at St. James/Owensville    5:30 p.m.

Washington at Seckman    6 p.m.

St. Clair at De Soto    TBA

Friday, Jan. 30

St. Clair at Potosi/Festus    5 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 31

Pacific at Hazelwood East Tny    9 a.m.

Girls Swimming

Tuesday, Jan. 20

Timberland 140, Washington 96, Ft. Zumwalt East 87

Thursday, Jan. 22

Oakville 120, Washington 115, University City 9, Mehlville 6

Saturday, Jan. 24

Washington 91, Borgia 80

Tuesday, Jan. 27

Washington 122, St. Charles West 46

Thursday, Jan. 29

Washington at Affton/Lutheran South    4:15 p.m.

Borgia at St. Dominic    8:30 p.m.

*Conference Games