Five high school baseball players from the area were named to the Missouri Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association 2012 all-state baseball team.

First- and second-team selections were made in each of the four classes.

Area players receiving the honor were Pacific senior Andrew David, Borgia seniors Trent Leimkuehler and Brendan Kleekamp, Wright City junior Austin Meine and New Haven junior Austin Madden.

David was the lone area player to be named to the Class 4 squad as a second-team utility player.

Heading to Tufts University in Medford, Mass., to play baseball, David had a pitching record of 6-0 with a 0.88 earned-run average. In 40 innings, he allowed six runs, five earned, on 24 hits with eight walks and 40 strikeouts.

David, the player of the year in the Four Rivers Conference, also led the Indians at the plate, posting a batting average of .500 (24-48) with one home run, 20 walks, 19 RBIs and 15 runs scored. He had an on-base percentage of .652.

Leimkuehler, Kleekamp and Meine were selected to the Class 3 team.

Leimkuehler was named a first-team outfielder.

At the plate, Leimkuehler led the Knights with a .433 batting average (39-90) with nine walks, 26 RBIs and 32 runs scored. He had an on-base percentage of .495.

Leimkuehler will continue his baseball career at Jefferson College in Hillsboro.

Kleekamp was named a second-team pitcher.

Headed to Lindenwood University in St. Charles to play baseball, Kleekamp was 6-1 for the Knights with a 1.47 ERA. In 43 innings, he allowed 13 runs, nine earned, on 23 hits with 20 walks and 61 strikeouts.

Meine was named a first-team infielder. He had a .543 batting average (38-70) with 14 walks, 27 RBIs and 24 runs. He had an on-base percentage of .628.

In Class 1, Madden was named a first-team pitcher.

For the season, Madden was 8-1 with a 2.82 ERA for the Shamrocks.

In 57 innings, Madden allowed 37 runs, 23 earned, on 64 hits with 22 walks and 58 strikeouts.

The complete MSSA all-state team can be found at

Class 4

First Team

Pitchers Andy Cheray of Rockhurst, Teddy Rule of Vianney, Spencer Schwandt of Liberty and Joey Schenck of Rockwood Summit.

Catchers Austin Allen of Chaminade and Mark Fultz Lee’s Summit West.

Infielders Justin Chigbogu of Raytown South, William DuPont of Lafayette, Zach Faulkner of Festus, Colton Howell of Ft. Zumwalt West and Nathan Winfrey of Liberty.

Outfielders Michael Bozarth of Parkway North, Danny Holst of Parkway South, Bralin Jackson of Raytown South and Spencer Johnson of Parkview.

Utility players Gerrion Grim of Ft. Zumwalt South, J.T. Hayes of Truman and Ryan Phillips of Rock Bridge.

Second Team

Pitchers Anthony Caenepeel of Willard, Griff Goodrich of Kirkwood, Sam Perez of Branson and Payton Walker of Carl Junction.

Catchers Jake Henson of Francis Howell Central and Todd Hinkley of Liberty.

Infielders Jacob Boylan of Raymore-Peculiar, Drew Bridges of Carthage, Mitch DeGraw of Rockhurst, Matt Feldt of Lindbergh and Willis Floros of SLUH.

Outfielders Clayton Evans of Rockwood Summit, Jared Ginter of Blue Springs South, Lex Kaplan of Ladue and Ryan Rippee of Kickapoo.

Utility players Andrew David of Pacific, Matt Hall of Lee’s Summit West and Deion Hughes of Helias.

Class 3

First Team

Pitchers Hunter Haynes of Mexico, Ben Lovell of Westminster Christian, Blake McFadden of Savannah and Austin Tribby of Springfield Catholic.

Catchers Sam Gieg of Lutheran South and Zach Morgan of Oak Grove.

Infielders Shane Benes of Westminster Christian, Dalton Horstmeier of Fulton, Chandler Kovar of Centralia, Austin Meine of Wright City and Jack Wolfe of Springfield Catholic.

Outfielders Evan Gruener of Logan-Rogersville, Levi Harmon of Oak Grove, Trent Leimkuehler of Borgia and Tate Matheny of Westminster Christian.

Utility players Jake Dobbelare of Perryville, Cody Lee of Mount Vernon and Spencer Pugh of Orchard Farm.

Second Team

Pitchers Collin Brinker of North Callaway, Brendan Kleekamp of Borgia, Clayton Tiffany of Benton and Davis Vanderslice of Westminster Christian.

Catchers Luke Hartman of Hallsville and Payton Scarbrough of Maryville.

Infielders Zach Herman of Logan-Rogersville, Zach Lavy of North Callaway, Ricky Nichols of Cassville, Jordan Pannell of Marshall and Luke Turner of Westminster Christian.

Outfielders Tanner Kemna of Blair Oaks, Zane Phillips of Mount Vernon, Joe Young of Logan-Rogersville and Colton Webber of Seneca.

Utility players Brandon Downey of Lutheran South, Adam Grantham of Kennett and Ryan Strohm of Lutheran South.

Class 2

First Team

Pitchers Tyler Litterest of Valle Catholic, Cameron Terry of Purdy, Alex Winkelman of Crystal City and Jordon Wheeler of Schuyler.

Catchers Jared Gage of Summit Christian and Craig Johnson of Stockton.

Infielders Tyler Ferguson of  Southwest, Zach Knipp of Tipton, Hunter Leeper of South Callaway, Tyler McClanahan of Crystal City and Dylan McGehee of Brentwood.

Outfielders Collin Nolting of Tipton, Wyatt Porter of Licking, C.J. Regan of Dixon and Joe Voltmer of Bishop LeBlond.

Utility players Alex Rollhaus of Valle Catholic, Matthew Verschelden of Summit Christian and Chance Wolfe of Clever.

Second Team

Pitchers Josh Baker of Stockton, Alex Davie of Chaffee, Paul Fox of Bloomfield and Ben Shannan of Scotland Co.

Catchers Tanner Murphy of Malden and Drew Pearson of Cabool.

Infielders Riley Brant of Tipton, Tyler Collison of Hartville, Nathan Huckaby of Conway, Cade Lowe of Twin Rivers and David Pennewell of Clever.

Outfielders Austen Boyer of Summit Christian, Cory Hanger of South Callaway, Kory Keeth of Conway and Bradley Smart of South Callaway.

Utility players Dalton Gulick of Miller, Garrett Haslag of Eugene and Kevin Smith of Brentwood.

Class 1

First Team

Pitchers Andrew Curry of Santa Fe, Aaron Hoewing of Canton, Austin Madden of New Haven and Colten Selvey of Liberal.

Catchers Austin Essick of Billings and Brett Thomas of Green Ridge.

Infielders Aaron Barratt of Cairo, Riley Jenkins of Norwood, Calab Kauffman of Weaubleau, Jared Hathcoat of Ellington and Dalton Wilkinson of Santa Fe.

Outfielders Lane Arends of Sturgeon, Blake Carlyle of Oran, Ryan Forrest of Norwood and Cole Lockhart of Paris.

Utility players Keaton Graf of Santa Fe, Cody Hull of Norwood and Kody Moore of Oran.

Second Team

Pitchers Brandon Bridges of Cooter, Dalton Woodard of Naylor, Tyler Hull of New Franklin and Cale Spangler of Sacred Heard.

Catchers Chad Tieman of Santa Fe and Tyler Niemann of Canton.

Infielders Beau Franklin of Green Ridge, Ryan Loethen of St. Elizabeth, Seth Resse of Oran, Andrew Smith of Santa Fe and Tyler White of New Franklin.

Outfielders Joe LeAn of Weaubleau, Trent Kallweit of Wheatland, Kyle Robbins of Wheaton and Patrick Ward of Cooter.

Utility players Connor Jenisch of Billings, Spencer Kelly of Sturgeon and Brad Roberts of Cairo.