Knights Earn AAA Large Division Awards

Borgia senior Jordan Miller was a first-team all-conference basketball selection in the AAA Large Division.

While it had to settle for second in its division, Borgia’s foray into the Archdiocesan Athletic Association has yielded postseason honors for boys basketball players.

The Knights finished second in the AAA Large Division and earned several honors.

Borgia’s awards were:

• Large Division Newcomer of the year — junior Zac Schweissguth;

• Defensive player of the year — senior John Baumstark;

• AAA Large Division first team — senior Jordan Miller; and

• AAA Large Division second team — senior Casey Kuchem.

Duchesne earned two major honors with Ryan Tune being named player of the year and Wade Bouslog earning coach of the year.

St. Mary’s guard Josh Robinson was named the offensive player of the year.

Joining Tune, Miller and Robinson on the first team were St. Dominic’s Michael Schnieder and Duchesne’s Drew Moore.

Joining Kuchem on the second team were St. Dominic’s Alex Hagan, Duchesne’s Sam Briscoe and Clay Stulce and Bishop DuBourg’s Joe Carr.

In the Small Division, the player of the year was Trinity junior Desoto Dickson.

Cardinal Ritter’s Sean Clancey was named newcomer of the year.

Dickson was the offensive player of the year while O’Fallon Christian’s Deantrell Prince was the defensive player of the year.

Dave Meers of Christian was the coach of the year.

Dickson and Prince were joined on the division’s first team by Cardinal Ritter’s Charles Jones, O’Fallon Christian’s Lance Lehmann and St. Charles Lutheran’s Logan Kluesner.

Second-team selections were Kennedy’s Sam Stewart, Clancey, O’Fallon Christian’s Evan Marcks, Cardinal Ritter’s Dominic Nelson, St. Charles Lutheran’s Kyle Graham and Trinity’s Quinton Ward.