Race Across America Departs Area for Finish - The Missourian: Sports

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Race Across America Departs Area for Finish

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, June 21, 2013 4:30 pm

And the 2013 version of Race Across America Powered by Trane has ridden off into the sunrise.

Mira RAAM Quebec, an 8-person open team, reached Time Station 34 at Revolution Cycles in Washington at 3:07 a.m. Friday morning.

With the departure of Mira RAAM Quebec, all individuals and teams still in the competition have passed through not only Washington, but all of Missouri headed east.

Many of the individuals have completed the event as well as one team.

The first racer to reach Annapolis, Md., and the finish line was Christoph Strasser.

He had been the first rider to reach Washington last Sunday at 10:37 a.m. He completed his race Wednesday at 3:01 p.m. EDT at an average of 15.66 mph. That broke the old speed record of 15.40 mph set by Pete Penseyres in 1986 and the old time record set by Rob Kish in 1992. Strasser became the first individual to break the 8-day mark.

Besides being the first overall finisher, Strasser won the solo male under 50 division.

Second place in that category went to Dani Wyss, who finished Thursday at 1:20 p.m. EDT.

Defending champion Reto Schoch took third, reaching the finish line at 3:54 p.m. EDT Thursday.

Also finishing the race were Mark Pattinson, Marko Baloh, Davis Misch and Jason “The Hammer” Lane.

As they came through Washington, the order had been Strasser, Schoch, Wyss, Gerhard Gulewicz, Baloh, Pattinson, Eduard Fuchs, Lane and Misch.

Gulewicz was forced to drop out somewhere around Time Station 42. Fuchs was leading the remaining racers Friday morning with a 17-minute edge over Gerald Bauer at Time Station 51.

The top female was Maria Parker/3,000 Miles to a Cure. The solo female 50-59 racer was last marked at Time Station 42 Friday morning.

In the solo female under 50 division, Cassie Schumacher (Pedal for Heroes USA) was at Time Station 40 while her lone competition, Lisa Dougherty (Team Los Alamos Schools) was at Time Station 39.

In the solo male 50-59 division, Franz Wintersberger was two time stations ahead of Guenter Haas. Wintersberger was at Time Station 46 while Haas had last checked in at Time Station 44.

In the solo male 60-69 division, Mario Fraternali held a lead of about one time station on Patrick Seely. Fraternali had been marked at Time Station 42 Friday morning while Seely reached Time Station 41 over three hours previously.

One team, Allied Forces - Team 4Mil/Strategic Lions, has finished. That 8-person open team finished the trek in five days, three hours and 45 minutes. That broke the old record set last year by Team ViaSat.

Team CEO Challenges and Team O’Side were between Time Stations 46 and 47 with Team Barrow one time station behind.

Leaders in the other team divisions Friday morning were:

• 2-person female under 50 — Power, Pedals and Ponytails at Time Station 37;

• 2-person male under 50 — Biking Vikings at Time Station 46;

• 2-person male 50-59 — Polish Ultracycling Team at Time Station 40;

• 2-person mixed 50-59 — Flying J’s at Time Station 43;

• 4-person female under 50 — Love, Sweat & Gears at Time Station 44;

• 4-person male under 50 — 4athletes powered by gateprotect at Time Station 51;

• 4-person male 50-59 — Green Beret Foundation at Time Station 43;

• 4-person mixed under 50 — Vencendo Desafios Team Brasil at Time Station 39;

• 4-person mixed 50-59 — Team Break the Cycle at time Station 40; and

• 4-person mixed 60-69 — Team GOALED at Time Station 43.

For the latest updates, please see raceacrossamerica.org or ridefarther.com.


Area Scoreboard

Boys Basketball

Monday, Jan. 26

^Rock Bridge 79, Northwest 27

^Lutheran South 76, Hillsboro 43

Owensville 41, Hermann 40

St. James 80, Montgomery County 39

Tuesday, Jan. 27

Jackson 65, Pacific 44

^Borgia 82,  Union 61

~Warrenton 69, Chamois 24

^Washington 49, St. Clair 45 (OT)

~Wright City 51, New Haven 37

*Bethel at Crosspoint    7:45 p.m.

Wednesday, Jan. 28

Fulton SA at Thomas Jefferson    6:30 p.m.

Thursday, Jan. 29

^Northwest vs. Hillsboro   5:30 p.m.

~Chamois vs. New Haven    6 p.m.

~Warrenton vs. Wright City    6 p.m.

^Union vs. St. Clair    7 p.m.

~Hermann vs. Montgomery Co    7:30 p.m.

~Owensville vs. St. James    7:30 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 30

^Rock Bridge vs. Lutheran South    5:30 p.m.

^Borgia vs. Washington    7 p.m.

*Providence at Crosspoint    7:30 p.m.

Eagle Ridge at Fulton SA    7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 31

^Seventh-place game    2:30 p.m.

~Seventh-place game    2:30 p.m.

^Consolation    4 p.m.

~Consolation    4 p.m.

^Third-place game    5:30 p.m.

~Third-place game    5:30 p.m.

^Championship    7 p.m.

~Championship    7 p.m.

%Washington Tournament

#South Callaway Tournament

^Union Tournament

~Hermann Tournament

Girls Basketball

Monday, Jan. 26

^Holt 60, Pacific 57

^Warrenton 42, Union 40

~Owensville 64,  Montgomery Co 32

Borgia 62, Cardinal Ritter 41

^St. Clair 64, Lutheran South 45

~Hermann 57, Wright City 26

Washington 74, Wentzville Liberty 19

Tuesday, Jan. 27

Fulton SA at Barat    4:30 p.m.

~New Haven 42, Montgomery Co 34

*Bethel at Crosspoint    6:15 p.m.

~Chamois 61, Wright City 20

Wednesday, Jan. 28

^Pacific vs. Union    4 p.m.

Fulton SA at Thomas Jefferson    5 p.m.

^Wentzvillr Liberty vs. Lutheran South     5:30 p.m.

~Owensville vs. New Haven    6 p.m.

^Holt vs. Warrenton    7 p.m.

~Hermann vs. Chamois    7:30 p.m.

^Washington vs. St. Clair    8:30 p.m.

Thursday, Jan. 29

*Borgia at Notre Dame    6:45 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 30

^Seventh-place game    4 p.m.

~Consolation    5 p.m.

^Consolation    5:30 p.m.

*Providence at Crosspoint    6 p.m.

Eagle Ridge at Fulton SA    6 p.m.

~Third-place game    6:30 p.m.

^Third-place game    7 p.m.

~Championship    8 p.m.

^Championship    8:30 p.m.

@Union Tournament

#South Callaway Tournament

^Washington Tournament

~Hermann Tournament


Tuesday, Jan. 27

*Pacific 42, St. Clair 33

Borgia 36, Hallsville 30

Helias 66, Borgia 21

Wednesday, Jan. 28

Borgia at Lutheran St. Charles    5 p.m.

Thursday, Jan. 29

Union at Farmington/Summit    5 p.m.

*Pacific at St. James/Owensville    5:30 p.m.

Washington at Seckman    6 p.m.

St. Clair at De Soto    TBA

Friday, Jan. 30

St. Clair at Potosi/Festus    5 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 31

Pacific at Hazelwood East Tny    9 a.m.

Girls Swimming

Tuesday, Jan. 20

Timberland 140, Washington 96, Ft. Zumwalt East 87

Thursday, Jan. 22

Oakville 120, Washington 115, University City 9, Mehlville 6

Saturday, Jan. 24

Washington 91, Borgia 80

Tuesday, Jan. 27

Washington 122, St. Charles West 46

Thursday, Jan. 29

Washington at Affton/Lutheran South    4:15 p.m.

Borgia at St. Dominic    8:30 p.m.

*Conference Games