The 13th class of inductees into the Missouri Photojournalism Hall of Fame will be recognized Thursday in ceremonies in Columbia. The Photojournalism Hall of Fame was established in Washington in 2005. After 10 years in Washington, the Hall of Fame was moved to Columbia.

Five photojournalists, including one who is from Union, will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at the 4 p.m. ceremony in the Palmer Room at the Reynolds Journalism Institute at the University of Missouri School of Journalism.

The inductee from Union is Jim McCarty, longtime editor of Rural Missouri magazine, the official publication of the Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives. The other inductees are Art Phillips, St. Louis, photographer for the UPI for nearly 30 years; Rita Reed, Columbia, now on the staff of the MU School of Journalism; the late Garland Fronabargler, Cape Girardeau, Southeast Missourian; and the late Wilson Hicks, a photo editor at newspapers in Sedalia, Kansas City, Sunday Times in Sydney, Australia, the AP and Life magazine.

They will join a long list of outstanding inductees over the past 13 years that the Hall of Fame has been in existence. Congratulations!