As the Washington Town & Country Fair approaches, another important August date is Tuesday, Aug. 7 — primary election day.

There are new names on the ballot and a number of elective offices do not have a primary election contest. 

The Missourian later this month will publish biographical sketches of candidates for offices in which there is a race. Information also about the candidates will be published prior to the November election.

Earlier we published information on the candidates for U.S. senator. The incumbent, Sen. Claire McCaskill, Democrat, is facing a primary election challenge from six other candidates. None of her opponents has name recognition for the primary. There are 11 Republican candidates for U. S. senator. Josh Hawley, Columbia, is the leading candidate in the field of candidates.

For the U.S. House, District 3, the incumbent Republican Blaine Luetkemeyer,  St. Elizabeth, has primary opposition from Chadwick Bicknell, Arnold. The Democratic candidate is Katy Geppert, St. Louis.

A statewide office on the primary election ballot is state auditor. There are four Republican candidates. They are Kevin M. Roach, Ballwin, David Wasinger, St. Louis, Paul Curtman, Washington, and Saundra McDowell, Jefferson City. The incumbent, Democrat Nicole Galloway, has no primary opponents.

The candidates for state senator, District 26, which includes Franklin County, have no primary opposition. They are the incumbent,  Republican Dave Schatz, Sullivan, and Democrat John Kiehne, Labadie.

There are four state representative districts that include parts of Franklin County — Districts 61, 109, 110 and 119. In District 61 the election is for the unexpired term of Justin Alferman,who now is on the governor’s staff. Two candidates are seeking this post. They are Aaron D. Griesheimer, Republican, and Pamela Menefee, Democrat. Both are from Washington.

There is a race on the Republican ticket for state representative in District 109. The candidates are John Simmons, Bob Oreskovic and Kevin Juergens, all from Washington. There is only one Democratic candidate, James Cordrey, Union.

In District 110, which takes in a small part of Franklin County,  there are two Republican candidates, Dottie Bailey and Matt Doell, both from Eureka, and one Democratic, Cody Kelley, Pacific.

For state repesentative, District 119, there is no primary race. Running unopposed are Republican Nate Tate, St. Clair, and Democrat Marcie Nichols, Sullivan.

There are county offices on the primary ballot but we’ve given enough to digest for now.