Earn Scholarships

Five Pacific High School seniors were awarded some $2,850 in Pacific Area Chamber of Commerce scholarship grants at the April 26 awards banquet, previously called the queen banquet. The Chamber has been making the annual grants for more than 15 years. This is the first year that male seniors qualified for the competitive scholarships. From left are Rachel Hendrix, Elizabeth Petersen, Michael Allen, Christopher Hayden and Heather Castelli.

The Pacific Area Chamber of Commerce awarded college scholarships to five Pacific High School seniors at its April 26 awards banquet held at the Pacific Eagles Hall.

The Chamber awarded $2,850 in competitive scholarships.

For the first time since inception of the scholarship program, male students were allowed to compete.

Scholarship candidates were Michael Allen, Heather Castelli, Christopher Hayden, Rachel Hendrix and Elizabeth Petersen.

Husky Corporation, Edward Jones-Greg Myers, Citizens Bank, Dance Connection and Pacific Foods sponsored the candidates.

Emcee Larry Carter introduced the candidates and their unique qualifications for success in college.

Allen is in band, involved in his church and has assisted two of his friends with Eagle Scout projects. He enjoys cycling, running, computer programming, reading, math and playing his trombone. He would like to be a computer software designer.

Castelli has been involved in band, Student Council, track, Beta Club and Key Club. Castelli received honors with Girls State, and Young Achievers and served as Student Council president, as well as scholar team varsity captain. She took third place in the state speech competition.

Hayden is president of DECA, involved in track, Model UN, Student Council, scholar team, Beta Club and French Club. He enjoys running, pole vault, advertising and design, and computers. He would like to get a job in advertising and eventually start his own firm.

Hendrix has been involved in Missouri Young Achievers, Beta Club, honor roll, varsity dance team, Missouri Stream Team, Adopt-a-Family, Key Club and varsity track team. She likes dancing, reading, horseback riding, science, animals and cooking. She would like to work with a corporation that makes solar panels and start a foundation for stray pets.

Petersen has been involved in Student Council, Beta Club, Model UN, student ambassador, Missouri Stream Clean, Missouri Girls State, band of Indians, yearbook and St. Bridget fish fry. She enjoys reading, movies, walking, traveling and family history. She plans to become a lawyer in family law and work with children’s cases.

Each candidate spoke at the banquet, describing the business of his or her individual sponsor.

Judges Neva Bagwell, Monica Mahler and Rick Willmore then retired to another room to select scholarship winners.

Community awards made during the program were Pioneer of the Year, presented to Ruth Muehler; Chamber of Commerce Member of the Year, awarded to Ken Scott; Chamber Business of the Year, presented to Don Flier Motors, and Citizen of the Year, awarded to Larry Carter.

Three first responders received distinguished service awards — Paramedic Dale Kinnard, Fire Capt. Gary Graf and Police Sgt. Rodney Backues. The Missourian sponsors the distinguished service awards.

A highlight of the evening was when the judges returned with their selection for scholarship awards.

Each of the five candidates received a scholarship to the college of their choice.

Rachel Hendrix, who sold the most tickets to the event, received a $400 scholarship. Heather Castelli received $200. Christopher Hayden received a $300 scholarship.

As first runner-up, Elizabeth Petersen received a $750 scholarship.

Michael Allen took the top honors with a scholarship of $1,250.

The Pacific Eagles provided the hall free for the event. The Pacific High School jazz band performed during the social hour.

The Pacific Eagles provided the hall free for the event. The Pacific High School jazz band performed during the social hour.

The 2012 banquet committee included Joyce Couch, Holly Walker, Dr. Megan Goss, Kay LeClaire, Fran Kopsky, Chip Meyer and Tom Sauvage.