Washington High School’s 116th commencement will take place this Friday, May 19, at 7 p.m. at Rauch Field in the Jim Scanlan Stadium.

Diplomas will be presented to approximately 329 students.

Principal Dr. Kelle McCallum said it’s been an honor to work the Class of 2017.

“As a group they are a dedicated class, full of intelligence, a great sense of humor and dedicated to making lives better for the community,” she said.

McCallum said the graduating seniors have raised thousands of dollars in donations for community events.

The class includes 21 Missouri Bright Flight award winners. Seniors also have earend 285 scholarships totally nearly  $900,000.

“I look forward to their future accomplishments,” McCallum said. “On behalf of the Washington High School faculty and staff we say congratulations and job well done.”


McCallum will give the welcome Friday night, followed by the band performing “Pomp and Circumstances.”

The Washington JROTC cadets will present the colors.

Adam Gauzy, class vice president, will lead the Pledge of Allegiance.

The national anthem and school song will be performed by the high school choir.

Assistant Principals Joe Dierkes and Mary Kleekamp will recognize students who earned honors and high honors.

Assistant Principal Shawn Wallace will announce the students who will give addresses.

Washington School District Superintendent Dr. Lori VanLeer will speak followed by the presentation of the Class of 2017 by Mariane Brueggemann, retiring counselor.

School Board President Kevin Blackburn will present diplomas.

Josh Omer, class president, will then lead seniors in the turning of the tassels.

McCallum will give closing remarks.

High Honors

Students who will receive high honors for earning a 3.90-4.0 GPA are as follows:

Grace S. Birk, Katerina J. Botonis, Sarah E. Bretzke, Curtis J. Brinker, Alyssa C. Brinkmann;

Randi M. Brueggemann, Clayton C. Duchatschek, Cortney A. Eckelkamp, Adam J. Gauzy, Emily J. Groppe;

Jenna L. Hamlett, Taylor K. Hanneken, Libbie T. Harrison, Mary K. Hinnah, Justine E. Huellinghoff;

Kacie N. Huxol, Spencer J. Johnson, Kostas A. Kakadiaris, Lauren E. Kazmaier, Grace R. Koch;

Molly A. Landolt, Caroline J. Lenger, Mackenzie M. Loesch, Gia A. Mesz, Sarah N. Miles;

Lydia R. Nekula, Paige E. Nye, Parker L. Nye, Loraine J. O’Brien, Emma D. Pabst;

Jeffrey B. Peters, Jeffrey S. Phillips, Alex L. Phinney, Cole J. Phinney, Shannon A. Roewe;

Joseph E. Schmitt, Noah E. Schroepfer, Kelley L. Siem, Jordan R. Steinberg, Michael J. Stitz Jr.;

Madison A. Straatmann, Mia BaoYuan Turpiano, Tiffany L. Winistoerfer, Brooke N. Woemmel and Hannah L. Ziegler.

Honors Students

Honor students who have earned a 3.750-3.899 GPA are as follows:

Dylan M. Brocato, Autumn N. Buesking, Jerry J. DeLargy, Natalie E. Figura, Marissa A. Ginger;

Jessica A. Hanneken, Scott T. Klein, Kaitlyn D. Knickmeyer, Alicia R. Ley, Meghan E. Mauldin, Jonathan E. McGowan;

Shane M. Nitschke, Payton R. Owens, Tiffany M. Schaper, Danielle K. Scharfenberg, Elizabeth A. Scheer;

Sofia M. Smith, Otto J. Spaunhorst, Rachel Lee Vogelgesang and Faith Marie Wheeler

About the Class

The Class officers are Jospeh Omer, president; Adam Gauzy, vice president; Dylan Brocato, secretary; Paige Nye, treasurer; and Parker Nye, student rep.

The student marshals are Cason Suggs and Alexis Hendricks.

Senior class sponsors are Cathy Jinkerson and Kathryn Laurentius.

This year’s class song is “May We All,” by Florida Georgia Line. The class flower is the cactus.

The class motto is “Sometimes you will never know the value of a moment until it becomes a memory,” by Dr. Seuss.

The senior class gift was new bullentin boards.

If It Rains

In the event of rain, graduation will be moved indoors in the gym. Each graduate will then be limited to six tickets.

School officials said they likely won’t make a determination on graduation inside or out until Friday morning.

For family and friends unable to attend graduation, a live video broadcast will be available on the district website. The broadcast will begin at 7 p.m. central time. It is recommended that people tune in a few minutes early.


School officials said parking on campus is limited. Guests are encouraged to utilize the 14th Street commuter lot for commencement parking.

A shuttle service will be available from approximately 5:45 to 6:45 p.m. and will drop off in front of the field entrance. Return shuttle service will be available for approximately 60 to 90 minutes following the ceremony.

The Mercy parking lot across from campus also will be available for parking after 6 p.m.