The Washington Public Library Board of Trustees will recognize two volunteers and one local business with the Velma Jones Stroetker Library Service Award this Sunday, April 14.

Diane Schatte, Michael Hopkins and The Missourian will be honored at the 2 p.m. public presentation and reception in the library meeting room.

Schatte, a library volunteer, has been involved with the in-library book sale and Friends of the Library annual book sale since moving to Washington five years ago.

She has given countless hours to the library and raised thousands of dollars for the library’s children’s program through her efforts, library officials said.

Hopkins was a member of the board of trustees for nine years, serving as president for many of those years.

Officials said his leadership was significant during the many changes the library has undergone in the past five years, including hiring a new director, expanding the library’s service agreement with Scenic Regional Library, and the recent building renovation/expansion.

The board is thanking and recognizing The Missourian’s owners and staff for their constant support of the public library through news coverage, advocacy, book donations and program partnership. Officials said such support is crucial to a library’s success.

The Velma Jones Stroetker Service Award may be given annually to recognize individuals, organizations or businesses who have given outstanding service to the library in the form of volunteer or service activities, advocacy, or professional/business support.

Past recipients have included Stroetker, a long-time librarian for whom the award was named, Jeanne Miller Wood, Fred Pecka, Chris Stuckenschneider, Catherine Woolley and Carolyn Witt.