Three teams were among those inducted into the Union High School’s first Hall of Fame induction ceremony, held Saturday night at the school.

Teams inducted include the 1943-44 boys basketball team, the 1983 volleyball team and the 1983 football team.

Teams are eligible for nomination after 10 years.

Team biographies are as follows:

1943-44 Boys Basketball — The 1943-44 basketball team was a state consolation winner. The team was regional champions, conference champions, 14-0; and had an overall record of 26-4.

The A team consisted of Bill Nicholson, Homer Branson, all-state, Bill Jacobsmeyer, Eldo Frueh and Earl Strain.

The B team included Walter Luchsinger, Donald Diestelkamp, Albert Danz, John Ham and Eldo Kappelmann.

The team was coached by William Bunge.

1983 Girls Volleyball — The 1983, Lady Cats Volleyball Team, coached by Greg Curran, finished the year with a 23-3-2 record. The team was the first ever to reach the state finals, with a trip to the Final Four in Kansas City.

The road to the Final Four included winning district at Pacific by knocking off rival Borgia for the third time that season.

From there, the Lady Cats traveled to Flat River where they defeated Dexter and Ste. Genevieve to earn a berth to the Final Four.

Union made it out of pool play to play for the state championship, but eventually fell to Incarnate Word Academy and finished second in state.

Seniors included Stacie Jacobsmeyer, Kate Heidmann, Laura Bradshaw, Colleen Devine and Mary Helfrich.

Juniors included Lisa Costello, Lisa Manhart, Nancy Strubberg, Deanne Schmucke, Beth Beeler, Julie Tyler and Pam Medley.

1983 Football — The 1983 football team was the first and only football team to play for a state championship. The Wildcats lost the title game 35-13 to Joplin Parkwood.

The journey to the state championship included wins over Farmington 12-0, Jackson 35-13, and in a semi-final rematch played in the mud, Union beat St. Charles 7-0 to advance to the Show-Me Bowl.

Seniors included

Jerry Sawicki, Eric Schuenemeyer, Tim Cahill, Jason Eversole, Troy Mattingly, Chuck Akers, Roy Hoeft, Brent Plumlee, Jim McEwen, Steve Weinhold, Andy Jones, Ed Stowe and Mike Hulsey.

Juniors included Tod Bartholomew, Don Bell, Mike Rinne, Dean Lohmeyer, Gary Schmittler, Dean Mattingly, Jim Hulsey, Dave Hagedorn and Jeff Meyer.

Sophomores included Devin Steinberg, Mike Hagedorn, Don Zweifel, Doug Kee, Joe Herbst, Don Kruse, Jim Overschmidt, Mike Small, Mike Farmer, Terry Peth, Jim Carson, Jim Lindemeyer, Mike (LaValle) Cobb, Jay Holtmeyer, Troy Hix, Mike Brown, Todd Rumbo, Greg Bean, Mike Humphrey, Nick Pruitt and Rob Hagan.

Del Rinne was the head coach. Assistant coaches were Harvey Mefford, Don Olszowka and Dan Rogers.