With less than a week to go before filing closes, there has been new candidates to file in the new year. 

The last day of filing for the April municipal election will be Tuesday, Jan. 15. City of Union offices up for election include municipal judge, mayor and a seat on the board of aldermen in each of the four wards. 

All the incumbent candidates filed before the start of the new year. So far there are only two contested races.

Three candidates are vying to be Union’s mayor. Mike Livengood, who has been the mayor since 2007, will be challenged by Lucas Johnson and Rod Tappe. 

For Ward 2 alderman, Robert Marquart will face off against former alderman Terry Copeland. This will be the first election for Marquart after he was appointed to the board in July to fill out Vicki Jo Hooper’s term. 

The other incumbents  — Municipal Judge A. David Arand, Ward 1 Alderman Jim Albrecht, Ward 3 Alderman Dennis Soetebier and Ward 4 Alderman Karen D. Erwin — do not have a challenger.

Declaration of candidacy should be filed with the city clerk, 500 E. Locust St. Filing will be allowed between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Hours will be extended to 5 p.m. on the final day of filing.

The mayor’s seat is a four-year term. To serve as mayor, a candidate must be at least 25 years old and a resident of the city for at least one year.

According to Union city code, an alderman must be at least 18 years old at the time of the election. All aldermen must be a U.S. citizen and a Union resident for at least one year prior to the election. Aldermen serve two-year terms.

For judge, the candidate must be an attorney licensed to practice law in the state of Missouri. The candidate does not have to live in Union, but must live in the state. The judge has to be between 21 and 75 years old.

School Board

The Union R-XI Board of Education also has had no new filings in the new year.

Two seats are up for election with the terms of Karen Tucker and Valorie Steinbeck expiring. 

So far two candidates, Bernard (Ben) Everett Fox and incumbent Karen Tucker have both declared their candidacy.

Regular filing can be done during normal business hours. The administrative office hours are 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Monday to Friday.

Filing will not occur when the office is closed for inclement weather. Board terms are for three years. 

The last day to file is Tuesday, Jan. 15.

School board candidates must be at least 24 years of age; a citizen of the U.S; a resident taxpayer of the Union R-XI School District; and have resided in Missouri for a minimum of one year immediately preceding the election or appointment date.

Newly elected members are required by law to successfully complete 16 hours of orientation and training requirements within one year of the date of the election.