The names of two men who filed for election to the Union Board of Aldermen will not appear on the April ballot.

Ward 1 Alderman Jim Albrecht and Ward 4 Alderman Tim Strubberg will not be on the municipal ballot because they had not paid personal property taxes by Jan. 15, city officials said.

According to state statute, candidates must have paid their taxes by the final day to file for office, Jan. 15.

There will be no names of candidates listed for the Ward 1 seat and Alderman Karen Erwin will be the only name to appear on ballots for Ward 4.

The Ward 1 ballot will be a “write-in” ballot only, City Clerk Jonita Copeland said.

Alderman Jim Albrecht contacted The Missourian to say that he will run for re-election as a write-in candidate.

Each candidate signed their filing documents stating that their taxes were not delinquent, Mayor Mike Livengood said.

Strubberg told city officials that he thought his taxes had been paid.

Albrecht said he thought he had until election day to pat his taxes.

“I intended to pay in January but times were tough and I did not want to rob Peter to pay Paul,” he said.

Albrecht said he paid his tax bill Thursday, Jan. 17.

There still will be one official race on the April 2 ballot. Ward 2 Alderman Vicki Jo Hooper will face Dennis Soetebier.

Alderman Dustin Bailey has no opposition. Municipal Judge A. David Arand also is unopposed.