Filing closes Tuesday, Jan. 15, for two Union R-XI School Board seats.

There are five candidates, including the two incumbents, who have filed. Each of the candidates filed Tuesday, Dec. 11, the first day filing for offices opened.

The terms of board members James “Jim” Borgmann, 430 Krenning Road, Beaufort; and Jennifer Slay, 458 Grandview Farms Drive, Union, will expire in April.

Aaron Bockhorst, 767 Crider Lane, Union, Karen Tucker, 12 W. Main St., Union; and Donald “Doc” Quaethem, 16 Sommerfield Drive, Union, also filed for the position.

Names will appear on the April 3 ballot in the order candidates file.

The first to file was Tucker, followed by Quaethem, Slay, Borgmann and Bockhorst.

Filing for candidacy may be completed at the district administrative offices, 770 Independence Drive.

The office is open between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4 p.m.

Qualified candidates must be a citizen of the United States, a resident of Missouri for at least one year preceding the election, a taxpayer in the R-XI District and 24 years of age or older.

Board members serve a term of three years.

Individuals are required to comply with laws concerning eligibility, campaign finance and campaign disclosure following filing for candidacy.

Newly elected members of the board must complete 16 hours of training within their first year in office.

Questions regarding board membership may be directed to district Superintendent Steve Bryant, 636-583-8626, extension 4.