The Union FFA chapter placed first in district in the Missouri Institute of Cooperatives contest.

Carol Meyer from FCS Financial, a regional member of the MIC, presented the chapter with a $200 check at its 59th annual chapter banquet Thursday, May 9.

Chapter members also were awarded more than $4,000 in scholarships from the Kiwanis Club, Franklin County Farm Bureau and the Union FFA Alumni at the banquet.

New FFA officers have been installed for next year. They are Jeanette Minix, president, Ryan Overschmidt, vice president, Jordan Adams and Joe Kassebaum, secretaries, Libby Eckelkamp and Jacob Lenau, treasurers, Ellen Herring and Sam Aubuchon, reporters, Joe Young, sentinel, Cole Guerrant, chaplain, and Cheyenne Narup, historian.

At the state FFA convention last month, the Union chapter received the Superior Chapter Activity Award, ranking it as a Gold Emblem Chapter. The Gold Emblem award is given to the chapters that have accomplished the most in the state. Union placed 18th out of 311 chapters.

The award is based on activities in the areas of chapter, student and community development.

This past year, FFA members have achieved many accomplishments, including awards from the Franklin County Cattlemen’s Association and Monsanto.

The chapter also was awarded with the Appreciation, Distinguished Service and Outstanding Service awards, a feat that would not have been possible without community support.