Union Ward 1 Alderman Jim Albrecht was the final incumbent to file for re-election to the board.

He filed Wednesday, Jan. 2, for the April 2, 2013, election.

Incumbent Aldermen Karen Erwin, Dustin Bailey and Vicki Jo Hooper, as well as Judge A. David Arand also filed for re-election.

In Union, four board of aldermen and the municipal judge seats will be on the ballot. Aldermen and the municipal judge serve two-year terms.

Albrecht, Ward 1, was elected to serve on the board in 2009. He also served as an alderman from 1989 to 1994.

Hooper, Ward 2, and Bailey, Ward 3, both are seeking a second term as aldermen. They each were first elected in April 2011.

Erwin, Ward 4, served for 5 1/2 years until 2009 when she resigned after accepting a position working with a bail bondsman company. According to statutes, she could not serve on the board while working for that kind of company.

In 2012, Erwin was appointed to serve the term of Don Wurdack, who resigned from the board. Erwin was no longer working with the bail bondsman company.

A declaration of candidacy may be filed with City Clerk Jonita Copeland at city hall, 500 E. Locust St., between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Hours will be extended to 5 p.m. on last day of filing.

The deadline for filing is Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2013. The last day people may register to vote in the April election is March 6, 2013.

The city will use a lottery system the first day of filing to determine in what order candidates appear on the ballot. After the first day, the names will appear in the order filed.

Municipal judge candidates must be licensed to practice law in the state of Missouri, be a state resident and be between ages 21 and 75.

A candidate may not hold any other city office. A candidate may have other employment as the office is considered a part-time position.


UNW Aldermen File 01-05-13