One of the largest groups of students in recent years joined the St. Clair High School chapter of the National Honor Society earlier this week as 36 teenagers were inducted Monday night.

Katie Rawson, a former St. Clair R-XIII School District student, SCHS graduate, local NHS member and former sixth-grade teacher at the junior high school, was the guest speaker.

“I believe that what should make you and your parents the most proud in not the actual honor itself, but what you had to do to get it,” she said as she addressed students in the auditorium.

Requirements for NHS membership are maintaining an overall 3.5 or better grade point average, being of good character and involvement in extracurricular activities which provide evidence of service and leadership to the school or community. Students are selected by the SCHS Faculty Council.

Its purpose is to create enthusiasm for good scholarship throughout the school year, to encourage a desire for students to render service to school and community and to stimulate students to observe and practice those acts that develop strength and character.

“Induction into National Honor Society is a wonderful way for our school and community to recognize and celebrate the choices and sacrifices these students have made,” NHS sponsor and SCHS teacher Amy Schupp said.

The ceremony included the traditional lighting of the torch, which represents the emblem of the NHS and symbolizes its purpose to follow the light of truth. Current NHS member Chris Kahlenbeck lit the torch and explained its meaning. Other society inductees from a year ago then lit the four candles that represent character, scholarship, leadership and service.

The new 2013 members are Kayla Barrett, Libby Bell, Jazmyn Betz, Emma Buffer, Chase Cohen, Kevin Cox, Rachel Cusick, Samantha Deason, Neyko Dominguez, Mikayla Grable, Shane Heideman, Zachery Henderson, Allen Hinson, Kristen Krier, Hannah Krouper, Lucas Magruder, Katie Manion, Morgan Manning, Darrell Martin, Ian McQueen, Alex Miller, Abbigail Montgomery, Ronald Myers, Bailey Oermann, Evan Powell, Emily Presley, Abigail Rowden, Kylie Schroeder, Tiffany Shadrick, Nicole Short, Allison Smiley, Edward Sneed, Cierra Thrash, Taylor Townsend, Wyatt Wachter and Andrew Walsh.

Schupp presented certificates to the new inductees.

Current St. Clair High School NHS officers are Jessica Perkins, president; Autumn Erwin, vice president; Collin Avery, secretary; Kelsey Duncan, treasurer; and Julia Click, historian.