Tickets remain available for the St. Clair Area Chamber of Commerce’s annual Celebrate St. Clair banquet.

The 42nd annual event is scheduled for 5 p.m. on Saturday, April 6, in the St. Clair Elks Lodge, 35 E. North St. Tickets are $25 and include a steak and chicken dinner.

Tickets may be purchased at several local businesses, including St. Clair Health Mart, Farmers & Merchants Bank, US Bank, Heartland Bank, The Missourian, city hall and the St. Clair Area Chamber of Commerce office.

The banquet is open to the public.

Dinner is scheduled for 6 p.m. and the awards program will follow at 7 p.m. A social hour kicks things off at 5 p.m.

During the evening, the Chamber will recognize its various award winners. Nearly 50 nominations were received, and winners will be announced in several categories, including citizen and business of the year. The reigning recipients of those two awards are Joyce Janes and The St. Clair Missourian.

Other awards are volunteer of the year, outstanding public service, youth mentoring, teacher of the year, spiritual leader of the year and outstanding youth award. The St. Clair Police Department and Fire Protection District also will name their officer and firefighter of the year, respectively.

St. Clair resident Andrea Cheatham Quattlebaum will be the mistress of ceremonies. Quattlebaum is co-owner of the Otis & McLain clothing line, which continues to expand and is receiving worldwide attention. Quattlebaum has set up her international headquarters in her home town and travels to Los Angeles several times a year to conduct some business there.

The theme for the evening is “Steppin’ Out in St. Clair.”

Besides recognizing deserving residents and businesses, the banquet serves as a fund-raiser for the Chamber and is its biggest event of the year.

A silent auction, 50-50 drawing and door prize giveaways also will be part of the evening. Entertainment also is planned, including the St. Clair High School Jazz Band and the area band Victims of Circumstance. The St. Clair High School Air Force Junior ROTC will present the colors during the start of the festivities.


The list of individual nominees for the various awards are Roger Altenberger, the Rev. Jim Armistead, Carolyn Barnes, David Chambers, Patsy Collings, Paula Dace, Keith Domke, Lori Gratzer, Jennifer Hawkins, A.J. Hinson, Kimberly Hurt, Lorrie Mahan, Michael Murphy, Dottie Nelson, Christy Nevills, Jessica Perkins, Annette Pewitt, Amanda Presley, Dave Purviance, Carol Radford, Carmen Ruszala, Brenton Schnelle, Rick and Amanda Thomas, Susan Ulrey and Jenny Ulrich.

Business of the year nominees are St. Clair Nursing Center, Laser Pace Technologies, Studio 66 Salon, Farmers & Merchants Bank, Old Bus Stop Coffee Shop & Art Gallery, St. Clair Senior Center and Shane’s Joint.

For more information, contact the Chamber office at 636-629-6000.