The St. Clair Area Chamber of Commerce continues to seek candidates to serve on its nine-member board of directors. Board members are elected by the general membership to serve three-year terms.

During the board’s October meeting, three individuals were nominated for the terms that would begin in 2013, if elected — Kira Long, owner of Firehouse Signs and Designs; Matthew Beeson, Plaze Inc.’s director of operations for its St. Clair facility; and active volunteer Teresa Connelly. Nominations will be accepted through the Chamber office until Friday, Nov. 9.

The board election will take place during the general membership meeting on Nov. 28. The electees will be announced at that time after the votes are tallied.

“This is a great opportunity for individuals who care about our community and have the time to get involved,” current board President Keith E. Domke said. “We truly hope people will think about becoming a board member. Our Chamber is moving forward, and we’re moving forward because of the hard work put in by those who do get involved.”

Bob Triphahn will take over the reins of board president in January.

Two current board members whose terms will expire this year have decided to step down at the end of the year and not seek re-election. Paula Dace and Charlie Butler both were appointed to fill two-year terms that expire this year.

The third board member whose term expires at the end of this year, Bethany Perryman of Plaze, was appointed by the board to serve another year following the resignation of Debbie Mitchell of Quick Cash. Mitchell resigned earlier this month.

Perryman was board president in 2011.


Chamber members who wish to vote via absentee ballot may do so after the nomination period has expired on Friday. Chamber bylaws dictate that absentee ballots may be cast through a request to the executive director, Angela Crawford. They must be filled out, sealed and returned either by regular mail or by personally dropping them off at the Chamber office.

The absentee process remains an option up until the day before the board election. Only one ballot may be cast per business or Chamber member.

“The St. Clair Area Chamber of Commerce has had a great year, and that is a direct result of dedicated leadership from the current board of directors,” Crawford said. “We have been working to strategically position the Chamber for the years to come, and while you certainly don’t have to be a board member to have influence on the direction of the organization, we would welcome your input in the process. If you’ve ever thought about becoming more involved, now is the time to do it.”

Other current board members are Tim Davis, Certified Collision and Repair, vice president; Mike Murphy, superintendent of the St. Clair R-XIII School District, treasurer; and Stephanie Smith, St. Clair Jaycees president.

For more information, contact the Chamber at 636-629-6000, extension 3.