Voters in St. Clair’s second ward will have a decision to make in April when they choose between two newcomers to become their next political representative.

On Tuesday afternoon, the last day to file, Greg Talleur filled out the necessary paperwork to declare his candidacy for the Ward 2 alderman position that currently is open and will be filled for two years on April 8.

During the earlier stages of the filing period, Theresa Marie Lustwerk filed for the same position.

The race is the only one that will appear on the city’s ballot, but it is not the only issue to be decided by St. Clair voters.

Mayor Ron Blum still must appoint someone to fill the remainder of former Ward 2 Alderman’s Travis Dierker’s term. Dierker resigned at the beginning of the year so he could become the new assistant city administrator.

Talleur and Lustwerk will vie for that spot in April. Blum could appoint either one of them to fill the remainder of Dierker’s term or he could put someone else in the seat.

However, if he appoints either Talleur or Lustwerk, he or she will serve until April and then must face the other in the municipal election to see who gets the seat for the following two years.

Barb McGlenn is the city’s other Ward 2 alderman. She was elected for a second term last year.

In Ward 1, Nathan Tate’s term is up in April, but he is the only individual who filed. Zach Fuchs is the other Ward 1 alderman.

Elsewhere in St. Clair, Police Chief Bill Hammack and Collector Tiffany Burton were the only ones to file for their respective positions.

Hammack is seeking a third four-year term as chief while Burton is slotted to serve the final two years of former Collector Lynne Huff’s four-year term. Huff retired last year after 20 years on the job. Burton was appointed as her replacement.

All St. Clair voters, including in Ward 1 where there is no race, will decide on April 8 whether to make the collector’s position elected or appointed. The board of aldermen decided last year to put the issue on the ballot.

If voters opt to make it appointed, the change would not take effect until 2016.

There also will be no election in Parkway Village as current Trustees Marvin Pruitt and Steven Pelton were the only ones who filed.

School Boards

Lonedell R-XIV School District voters will seat three board of education members on April 8.

Four individuals filed for the three seats — two incumbents and two newcomers.

Current board members Maureen Lindsey and Brad Rucker declared their intent early during the filing period. Travis Corwin and Jason Bailey filled out the necessary paperwork during the final days.

Current board member Steve Heideman did not file.

There will be no election in St. Clair R-XIII as only the three incumbents filed for the three positions on that board. Current board members Dave Berkel, Andy Geisert and Tracy Komo filled out the necessary paperwork.

School board terms are for three years.


In Sullivan, one race will be on the April 8 ballot.

In Ward 2, incumbent Jason Alexander has filed to keep his two-year term but will face competition from David A. Cochran Jr.

In the city’s other two wards, one individual has filed. In Ward 1, incumbent Tony Wessler has completed the necessary paperwork. In Ward 3, incumbent Jarrett Dace did not file, but former Alderman Paul L. McCulloch has.

In the Sullivan school district, three individuals filed for three seats. Current board members Marty Tiefenbrunn and Jimmy Frye declared their intent to seek another three-year term. Chase Darrah also filed.

Marsha Tierney’s term expires in April, but she did not file.