Despite hundreds of write-in votes Tuesday in the unopposed races for county offices, the winners — new and incumbent — are now solidified.

After four of the top offices in the county were hotly contested in the Aug. 7 primary, the general election was just a formality.

The offices that were contested mark the largest turnover of elected officials in many years and they are all Republicans.

The retirements of former Presiding Commissioner John Griesheimer, County Clerk Debbie Door, Prosecuting Attorney Bob Parks and Collector Linda Emmons left the doors open for new candidates, but the incumbents weren’t challenged either.

Presiding Commissioner  

Tim Brinker, who was appointed presiding commissioner since shortly after his primary win in August, collected 33,024 of the total 33,826 votes cast in the unopposed race. There were 802 write-in votes.


Attorney Matt Becker, Washington, will be the first new prosecuting attorney for Franklin County in 20 years.

After winning the primary with 60 percent of the vote, he solidified his bid for the office, collecting 33,164 of the total 33,662 votes cast. There were 498 write-in votes as well. 

Becker has already been involved with budget meetings for the prosecutor’s office for 2019.


After defeating his primary opponent for county clerk, by a 62 to 37 percent margin, Tim Baker, Robertsville, collected 33,176 of the total 33,672 total votes cast Tuesday. There were 496 additional write-in votes. 


Chief deputy county collector Doug Trentmann, Washington, will be moving up to the No. 1 spot in his office.

After defeating two primary opponents, Trentmann received 33,149 of the total 33,588 votes cast in the general election Tuesday. There were 439 write-in votes as well.

Circuit Clerk

Bill D. Miller was successful in his bid for re-election, facing no opponents in either the primary nor general elections. He is currently the longest serving Franklin County elected official, having first won election in 1982.

On Tuesday, Miller received 33,944 of the total 34,366 votes cast. There were 422 write-in votes.


Like Miller, incumbent Auditor Tammy Vemmer didn’t face any challengers in the 2018 election cycle, securing another four-year term as the county’s top financial officer.

On Tuesday, she received 33,327 of the total 33,733 votes cast. There were 406 write-in votes.

Recorder of Deeds

Incumbent Recorder of Deeds Jennifer Metcalf was successful in her re-election bid and like Miller and Vemmer, had no challengers in the primary or general elections.

Most of the newly elected and re-elected officeholders will be sworn in just before Christmas and their four-year terms will be effective Jan. 1, 2019.