The St. Clair Elks Lodge remained a relatively busy place on Tuesday as individuals cast their votes in the presidential primary election. The Elks Lodge is the location where St. Clair out-of-town voters cast ballots.    Missourian Photo.

After four of the top offices in the county were hotly contested in the Aug. 7 primary, the candidates can breathe a sigh of relief next week since they have no opponents on Tuesday.

The offices that were contested mark the largest turnover of elected officials in many years.

The retirements of former Presiding Commissioner John Griesheimer, County Clerk Debbie Door, Prosecuting Attorney Bob Parks and Collector Linda Emmons left the doors open for new candidates.

All of the candidates were Republican and with no Democrat opponents in the general election next week, the races were decided in August.

Presiding Commissioner  

John Griesheimer announced he would not seek re-election early in 2018 and ended up retiring early in July due to health reasons.

Then First District Commissioner Tim Brinker, Union City Engineer Jonathan Zimmermann and Washington School Board member Trish Mitchell squared off in the primary.

Brinker won the race, garnering 49.5 percent of the vote. Mitchell took 35 percent and Zimmermann collected 15 percent.

Since the presiding commissioner seat was already vacant, Missouri Gov. Mike Parson appointed Brinker to fill the seat early.  


Franklin County Prosecuting Attorney Bob Parks is retiring at the end of the year and made that fact known about a year ago.

In the race to fill the seat Parks has held for 20 years, two Washington attorneys squared off.

Matthew Becker was victorious, collecting 60 percent of the primary votes. Samantha Cerutti Wacker got 39 percent of the vote.

With no general election opponents, the general election is just a formality.

In fact, Becker has already been involved with budget meetings for the prosecutor’s office for 2019.


County Clerk Debbie Door has been in her office just under 20 years and like Griesheimer and Parks announced early in 2018 that this would be her last year to hold the position.

Squaring off for the coveted seat were Republicans Tim Baker, Robertsville, and Kyle Dubbert, Villa Ridge.

Baker won the primary by a 62 to 37 percent margin and faces no Democrat opponent next Tuesday.

Since the August primary victory, Baker has already been working with Door and staff to get up to speed on the day-to-day operation of the clerk’s office.


Longtime incumbent County Collector Linda Emmons saved her retirement announcement until just before the election filing deadline.

She then threw her full support behind her chief deputy Doug Trentmann, Washington, who was victorious in the primary election against two opponents.

In all, Trentmann collected 36.7 percent of the total votes, narrowly beating out St. Clair resident Jamie Keen, who got 35.9 percent of the vote.

Tracy Comely, Washington, came in third in the collector’s race with 27.6 percent of the total votes.

County Officials

Other Republican county officials Recorder of Deeds Jennifer Metcalf, Auditor Tammy Vemmer, and Circuit Clerk Bill D. Miller all run unopposed for re-election in both the primary and the general election next week.


Incumbent 20th Judicial Circuit Associate Judges David Hoven and Stan Williams do not have opponents in the re-election bids.

Incumbent Division 1 Circuit Judge Craig Hellmann is running for his first re-election after being appointed to the bench last year by then Gov. Eric Greitens.

Union-based attorney Joe Purschke also is running unopposed for the associate circuit judge position in Division 5.