It was an easy election cycle for judges in the 20th Judicial Circuit with none of them facing opponents in either the primary or general elections.

The judicial circuit encompasses Franklin, Gasconade and Osage counties, but the majority of votes for the judges come from Franklin County.

Division 6 Associate Judge David Hoven, D-Washington, was re-elected Tuesday, collecting 28,930 of the total 30,309 votes cast in Franklin County.

There were 1,379 write-in votes.

His fellow Democrat, Division 7 Associate Judge Stanley Williams, Villa Ridge, also was successful in his re-election bid. 

He received 28,059 of the total 29,350 votes cast. There were 1,291 write-in votes as well. 

After being appointed to the bench last year by then Gov. Eric Greitens, incumbent Division 1 Circuit Judge Craig Hellmann was successful in his first election.

Hellmann received 33,780 of the total 34,338 total votes cast in Franklin County. There were 487 write-in votes.

The only newcomer to the bench was Union-based attorney Joe Purschke, who also ran unopposed for the associate circuit judge position in Division 5.

Overall, Purschke received 33,581 of the total 34,851 votes cast. There were 487 write-in votes.

The terms for the new judges will begin Jan. 1, 2019.