No matter which party ballot Franklin County voters selected, they had a wide array of candidates to choose from in the Tuesday, Aug, 7 primary.



There were 11 Republicans squaring off in the primary for U.S. Senate.

Missouri Attorney General Josh Hawley was victorious statewide capturing 58.6 percent, or 389,006 of the 663,553 total vote cast.

In Franklin County, Hawley collected 50 percent of the vote with 20,888 of the total 30,355 ballots cast.

Incumbent U.S. Congressman Blaine Luetkemeyer faced challenger Chadwick Bicknell in his bid for re-election in the third district.

Statewide, Luetkemeyer received 79.8 percent of the statewide total votes of 119,385 votes cast in that race.

In Franklin County, the incumbent congressman also received 80 percent, or 15,269 of the total 19,048 ballots cast.


Four candidates squared off in the Missouri state auditor race including current 109th State Rep. Paul Curtman, R-Washington.

Statewide, Curtman finished fourth in the race receiving 16 percent, or 97.055 of the total 591.685 total votes cast.

Curtman won in Franklin County where he received 50 percent of the votes.

The statewide winner of the Republican auditor primary was Saundra McDowell who received 32 percent of the total ballots cast.

A narrow swath of voters in the Pacific area elected Dottie Bailey, R-Eureka, as the Republican candidate to represent them in the 110th House District race.

First-time candidate, Aaron Griesheimer, R-Washington, ran unopposed in the Republican 61st House District race and State Rep. Nate Tate, R-St. Clair, did not face an opponent in his first re-election bid.

Incumbent State Sen. Dave Schatz, R-Sullivan, had no primary opponent in his re-election bid for the 26th State Senate District.


Republican county officials running unopposed for re-election included: Recorder of Deeds Jennifer Metcalf; Auditor Tammy Vemmer; and Circuit Clerk Bill D. Miller.

Incumbent Division 1 Circuit Judge Craig Hellmann ran unopposed in his first re-election after being appointed to the bench last year by then Gov. Eric Greitens.

Union-based attorney Joe Purschke also ran unchallenged for the associate circuit judge position in Division 5.



In the Democratic primary, U.S. Sen. Claire McCaskill faced six opponents in her bid for re-election.

Statewide she collected 82 percent, or 500,162 of the total 605,503 total votes cast in the Democratic primary.

That mirrored the results in Franklin County, where McCaskill also got nearly 83 percent, or 6,356 total votes.

Katy Geppert was unopposed in the primary for the Third District U.S. Congress seat.

Incumbent State Auditor Nicole Galloway had no opposition in her bid for re-election.


Candidates vying for state House/Senate seats not facing primary opponents included: John Kiehne, 26th Senate; Pamela Menefee, 61st House; James Cordrey, 109th House; Cody Kelley, 110th House; and Marcie Nichols, 119th House.


Incumbent 20th Judicial Circuit Associate Judges David Hoven and Stan Williams did not have primary opponents in the re-election bids and Bill Stahlhuth ran unopposed in the primary for Franklin County municipal judge.

Other Parties

Libertarian party candidates, Japheth Campbell, U.S. Senate and Sean O’Toole, auditor, ran unopposed for their races.

Green party candidate Jo Crain was successful in his primary bid for Senate as well as Don Fitz for auditor.

Jacob Luetkemeyer won the Constitution party primary for auditor as well.