Voting With Dad

Brad Pettet votes in a prior election at Washington City Hall with his daughter, Eleanor Pettet.    Missourian Photo.

U.S. Sen. Claire McCaskill carried Franklin County in her successful re-election bid Tuesday.

McCaskill, a Democrat, received 21,826 votes in the county compared to 21,281 for Republican Todd Akin, her primary opponent in the race.

Franklin County voters cast 3,178 votes for Libertarian candidate Jonathan Dine and 90 write-in votes for the office.

In the race for U.S. president, incumbent Democrat Barack Obama received 16,347 votes in Franklin County while Republican Mitt Romney’s vote total here was 29,396.

County voters cast 835 votes for Libertarian candidate Gary Johnson, 177 votes for Constitution party candidate Virgil Goode and 174 write-in votes.

Franklin County helped elect two Democratic candidates for statewide offices in Tuesday’s election.

In the race for governor, Democratic incumbent Jay Nixon carried Franklin County with 22,869 votes compared to Republican Dave Spence who received 22,335 votes. Libertarian Jim Higgins received 1,252 votes and there were 18 write-in votes cast for the office.

Democrat Chris Koster, who won re-election as Missouri attorney general, received 22,360 votes in Franklin County compared to 21,205 votes for Republican candidate Ed Martin. Libertarian Dave Browning received 1,848 votes and there were 20 write-in votes in that race.

Lieutenant Governor

In the race for lieutenant governor, the Republican incumbent Peter Kinder outpolled Democratic opponent Susan Montee to win re-election. Kinder received 26,217 votes to 16,219 for Montee. Libertarian candidate Matthew Copple received 1,486 votes while Constitution candidate Cynthia Davis received 1,674 votes. There were 22 write-in votes for the office.

Secretary of State

County voters favored Republican Shane Schoeller over Democrat Jason Kander for secretary of state. Schoeller received 24,335 votes to 18,910 for Kander, who won statewide. Libertarian Cisse Spragins received 1,270 votes and Constitution candidate Justin Harter received 576 votes. There were 24 write-in votes cast.


Republican challenger Cole McNary edged out Democratic incumbent Clint Zweifel in Franklin County but Zweifel won re-election as state treasurer. McNary received 21,947 votes in the county compared to 21,084 votes for Zweifel. Sean O’Toole, the Libertarian candidate, received 2,040 votes. There also were 28 write-in votes cast.

U.S. House Seat

Republican Blaine Luetkemeyer ran strong in Franklin County on his way to win election to the Third District U.S. representative seat. He received 29,777 votes compared to 13,818 for Democratic opponent Eric C. Mayer and 1,685 for Libertarian Steven Wilson. There were 22 write-in votes cast in that race.