New Haven Mayor George Panhorst was re-elected in Tuesday’s election.

He defeated three opponents to win a new two-year mayoral seat.

Panhorst received 201 votes (54.03 percent); Harold Ray, 112 (30.11 percent); Joseph Bennett, 34 (9.14 percent); and Chris Nixon, 23 (6.18 percent).

There were two write-in votes.

The mayoral election had a total of 372 votes in the three precincts.

The New Haven Ward 2 alderman race ended in a tie with each candidate getting 102 votes Tuesday.

The candidates, George Sewell and John Estes, can have the race decided through a new election or by a coin toss.

There were two write-in votes in the election.

The election results were certified by the county clerk’s office Thursday.

New Haven City Administrator Steve Roth said if the candidates request a new election, it would be at the city’s expense. It would not take place for at least a month.

The candidates have until Monday to decide whether they want a new election or have a chance drawing of some type.

County Clerk Debbie Door said Thursday that her office was working on an estimate of what a new election may cost for the alderman race.

It is advised that current Alderman Alan Bell, who did not seek re-election, remain in his seat until the winner is decided.