Turnout on Jan. 16 — the final day of filing for the April 3 municipal election — created races in five of the seven open municipal seats.

Former Alderman and Public Works Commissioner Ed Gass filed for the Ward 1 seat he previously held, opposing incumbent Nick Chlebowski.

Former Building Commissioner Dave Myers filed for the Ward 2 aldermanic seat, where he faces former Mayor Herb Adams.

Park Board President Stephen Flannery III filed for the seat of mayor, creating a three-way race with Alderman Steve Myers and Jerry Eversmeyer, a former alderman and current planning and zoning commissioner.

In other races, the Ward 3 seat will have a three-way race where incumbent Mike Pigg is challenged by Drew Stotler and Ben King.

The city collector seat is a four-way race for incumbent Debbie Kelley, who faces Sheila Grippo, Kandi Wolf and Sharon Boedges.

Police Chief Matt Mansell and municipal Judge Dan Leslie both are unopposed.

Write-in candidates could still change the playing field. In order to qualify as a write-in candidate, individuals must register at the County Clerk’s office, 400 E. Locust St., Union, to fill out the paperwork. 

The deadline to file as a write-in candidate is the second Friday before the election, which would be March 23. 

Write-in candidates must be registered voters and reside within the district they are wishing to serve.