Franklin County Presiding Commissioner John Griesheimer has appointed Pacific Alderman Carol Johnson to the East-West Gateway Council of Governments (EWGW) board of directors.

Announcing the appointment Feb. 7, Griesheimer said he wanted to select a representative from eastern Franklin County and his first choice was Johnson.

“I’m happy to appoint Carol (Johnson) to represent Franklin County,” he said. “I’ve known and observed her for a number of years. She is conscientious and hard working. I know she will do her homework and do a good job for the county.”

Johnson joins the 29-member EWGW board of directors, which is made up of the chief elected official in eight counties, including St. Louis City, St. Charles, Jefferson and Franklin counties in Missouri and the Illinois counties of Madison, Monroe and St. Clair.

The board also includes representatives from the Missouri Department of Transportation, the Illinois Department of Transportation, St. Louis Transit Authority Bi-State Development, the state of Missouri, and the state of Illinois.

EWGW is the federally designated metropolitan planning organization (MPO) for the St. Louis region.

In recent years, the role of EWGW has expanded to include corridor planning, Great Streets Initiatives, bicycle and pedestrian routes, hazard mitigation, regional security, local government services and the  St. Louis Area Regional Response System (STARRS) created to prevent, protect against, respond to and recover from these hazards.

Franklin County alternates each year with Jefferson County to appoint a second member to the board.

Johnson will serve a one-year term, making her the second Franklin County member of the EWGW board for 2018.

Johnson has served as Pacific Ward 2 alderman for 15 years, first elected in 2001.

In accepting the appointment, Johnson said she’s excited to be part of the larger role that EWGW plays in the region.

“It’ll be a learning process for sure,” she said. “But I’m excited to get started.”