One new candidate has thrown his hat in the ring for the East Central College Board of Trustees election to be held in April.

In Subdistrict 1, Gene Overhoff, Sullivan, will challenge Dr. Joseph Stroetker, Sullivan, who filed opening day.

Overhoff recently retired from his position as an operations technician at the college.

Also filing opening day was Ann Hartley of Union, incumbent from Subdistrict 2. Hartley is completing a two-year unexpired term which she was elected to in 2012.

The terms of Hartley from Subdistrict 2 and Charlie Betz from Subdistrict 1 expire next April.

Declaration of candidacy forms must be filed in the president’s office, Room 254 in Buescher Hall on the ECC campus in Union, weekdays between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.

No filings will be accepted on Monday, Jan. 20, when the college will be closed to observe the Martin Luther King Jr. holiday.

Filing closes Tuesday, Jan. 21, at 5 p.m.

A candidate for the ECC board must be a citizen of the United States, at least 21 years of age, a voter of the college district for at least one full year preceding the election date, and a current resident of the sub-district for which he or she files.

The board of trustees is the sole statutory legislative governing body responsible for the control and operation of East Central College. Neither state statutes nor district policy limits the number of terms a member may serve.

Subdistrict 2 includes the school districts of Lonedell R-14, St. Clair R-13, and Union R-11 excluding the Lyon and Boone Township portion of Union R-11 and that portion located in the Beaufort-Union precinct.

Subdistrict 1 includes the school districts of Crawford County R-1 (Bourbon), Sullivan C-2, Strain-Japan R-16, Spring Bluff R-15, Franklin County R-2, New Haven, the portions of Lyon and Boone Townships as well as the Beaufort-Union precinct in the Union R-11 School District. Also included in Subdistrict 1 are the portions of the Boeuf and Lyon Townships in the Washington School District.

The ECC board consists of six trustees, two each from three subdistricts of the college district. Trustees are elected at large, but a candidate must be a resident of the subdistrict he or she represents.