New Haven Queen Contest 201650.jpg

Anna Miller, 16, was crowned the 2016 New Haven Youth Fair Queen Friday night, July 8, at the 37th annual contest.

Miller edged out 11 other candidates to win the crown.

The daughter of Angela and Steve Miller, Anna will be a senior at New Haven High School this fall. Her sponsor was Studio 220.

The queen was awarded a $1,000 scholarship, a luggage set, Mary Kay products courtesy of Marilyn Zeitzmann and jewelry from Astral Glass.

Miller said she’s excited and proud to have won.

“All of the girls are extremely talented and all-around good people,” she said. “Everyone deserves to win.”

Miller said she was especially impressed with everyone’s talent.

“I was blown away. Everyone had a unique thing that made them so special,” she said. “It was such a great experience — one I can’t match anywhere else.”

Miller’s talent was a musical theater comedy piece called “Lost.”

Although she felt the talent portion was the most difficult part of the contest, Miller said she enjoyed it the most. She spent months perfecting her performance.

During that time, Miller also was working on a performance with the Riverside Players and working at the Washington UPS store and a pizzeria in New Haven.

After high school, Miller plans to attend a four-year university to study forensic accounting or business.

“I am so glad I got to be a part of the contest and that (the judges) thought I was worthy to represent my town,” she said.

Court, Prizes

Taylor Covington was named first runner-up. Elizabeth Scheer won second runner-up, and Kate Weiser was crowned Miss Congeniality.

The first runner-up received a $700; second runner-up received a $500 scholarship and Miss Congeniality won a $200 scholarship. All of the girls were presented with makeup and jewelry.

All contestants received gifts from their sponsors, the New Haven Lions Club and other area businesses.

The contest was sponsored by Town and Country Women’s Club.

Other contestants included Brooke Bockting, Emma Borcherding, Emma Eichelberger, Natalie Hoerstkamp, Trista Kormeier, Lucy Roth, Dakota Schroeder and Celesse Smedley.

Judges were Lisa Grosse, Emily Kuhn and Katie Kurz.