The newest class for the Union High School Athletic Hall of Fame has been named.

Inductees for 2018 are the 1975 Football team, coach Greg Curran and athletes Wendy Taylor, Jane (Strubberg) Tanner, Tammy (Mohesky) Mitchell, Stan Heidmann, Mike Olszowka, Gayle Klenke-Adams, Jim McEwen, Lisa Stephens Manning and Pat Rapert.

United Bank of Union will be inducted as a contributor.

The induction ceremony is scheduled for Saturday, Oct. 13, at Union High School. Doors will open at 5 p.m. with dinner starting at 6 p.m.

The ceremony will begin at 6:45 p.m. in the Union High School main gym.

The new members will be the second class for the hall. The inaugural class was inducted last fall.

The hall of fame honors and recognizes coaches, teams, athletes and sports contributors. The goal of the hall of fame is to recognize the history of UHS athletics.

Last year saw 21 inductees recognized for their achievements.

To make the hall, athletes must have graduated 10 or more years ago. Coaches must be retired for three years before they’re eligible.

Inductees are selected by a committee comprised of community members and school officials

The inductees are recognized on a recognition plaque to be located outside of the gym.

Biography details of the 2018 class are still being verified and will be released at the recognition ceremony.

The school continues to seek nominations for later classes. The Hall of Fame bylaws can be viewed online, at

Previous Inductees

Athletes in the hall include Ivan Barnhart, Doug Bentlage, George Brown, Eric Crumpecker, Benny Freiberger, Robert Hanneken, Matt Heidmann, Dionne Lamarque, Larry Peirick, Clifton Schuenemeyer, Lynn (Strubberg) Lottmann and Stephanie Thater.

Coaches who were in the inaugural class were Don Olszowka, Del Rinne and Dave Scheer

Three teams were recognized last year ­— the 1943-44 boys basketball team, 1983 volleyball team and 1983 football team.

Dr. George Richardson, Ed and Sandy Stierberger, and Byron Trott were named contributors in the inaugural class.