Election Day

No matter which party ballot Franklin County voters choose Tuesday, Aug. 7, they will have a wide array of candidates to choose from.


There are 11 Republicans squaring off in the primary for U.S. Senate and four candidates, including Paul Curtman, Washington, running in the state auditor primary.

Incumbent U.S. Congressman Blaine Luetkemeyer is facing challenger Chadwick Bicknell in his bid for re-election in the third district.  

In addition to the county offices of presiding commissioner, prosecuting attorney, collector, municipal judge, and county clerk being contested, voters will choose a new state representative for the 109th House District.

A narrow swath of voters in the Pacific area will decide between newcomers Dottie Bailey and Matt Doell to represent them in the 110th House District.

First-time candidate, Aaron Griesheimer, will run unopposed in the Republican 61st House District race and State Rep. Nate Tate, R-St. Clair, will not face an opponent in his first re-election bid.

Incumbent State Sen. Dave Schatz, R-Sullivan, has no primary opponent in his first re-election bid for the 26th State Senate District.    

Republican county officials running unopposed for re-election include: Recorder of Deeds Jennifer Metcalf; Auditor Tammy Vemmer; and Circuit Clerk Bill D. Miller.

Incumbent Division 1 Circuit Judge Craig Hellmann is running for his first re-election after being appointed to the bench last year by then Gov. Eric Greitens.

Union-based attorney Joe Purschke also is running unopposed for the Associate circuit judge position in Division 5.


In the Democratic primary, U.S. Sen. Claire McCaskill is facing six opponents in her bid for re-election.

Katy Geppert is unopposed in the primary for the Third District U.S. Congress seat.

One-term incumbent State Auditor Nicole Galloway has no opposition in her bid for re-election.

Candidates vying for state House/Senate seats not facing primary opponents include: John Kiehne, 26th Senate; Pamela Menefee, 61st House; James Cordrey, 109th House; Cody Kelley, 110th House: and Marcie Nichols, 119th House.

Incumbent 20th Judicial Circuit Associate Judges David Hoven and Stan Williams do not have primary opponents in the re-election bids and Bill Stahlhuth is running unopposed in the primary for Franklin County municipal judge.