The Franklin County clerk’s office was a busy location Tuesday as candidate filing for county offices opened at 8 a.m.

With three longtime county officials retiring this year, some top offices will be up for grabs for the first time in as many as 20 years.

As candidates file, they are given a number between 1 and 75 which are then drawn randomly to determine the placement of the candidate’s name on the ballot.

In addition to the offices of county presiding commissioner, prosecuting attorney and county clerk being vacated, four other county offices, including circuit clerk, collector, auditor and recorder of deeds, also are up for re-election in 2018.

As of press time Tuesday, the following people had filed to run for county office as a Republican:

• Associate Circuit Judge – Division 5 — Joseph W. Purschke;

• County Municipal Judge — A. David Arand;

• Presiding Commissioner — Trish Mitchell;

• Clerk of the Circuit Court — Bill D. Miller;

• County Clerk — Kyle Dubbert;

• Recorder of Deeds — Jennifer L. Metcalf;

• Prosecuting Attorney — Samantha “Sam” Cerutti Wacker, Matthew Becker;

• County Auditor — Tammy (Zweifel) Vemmer;

• Collector of Revenue — Jamie (Rice) Keen, Doug Trentmann;

• Committeewoman-Union Ward 3 — Susan Ida Luedde;

• Committeewoman-Washington Ward 1 — Joy Gerstein; and

• Committeewoman-Washington Ward 4 — Trish Mitchell.

Democratic Candidates

• Associate Circuit Judge-Division VII — Stan Williams;

• County Municipal Judge — Bill Stahlhuth.

Candidates for state elected offices must file for candidacy in Jefferson City.


As of press time Republican candidates for the 109th District are:

Kevin Juergens, Bob Oreskovic and John Simmons. The lone Democratic candidate is James Cordrey.


Pamela A. Menefee, Washington, has filed to run for the 61st District as a Democrat.


Marcie Nichols, Sullivan has filed to run for the 119th District as a Democrat.


Incumbent State Sen. Dave Schatz, R-Sullivan, has filed for re-election to a second term.