The University of Missouri Extension Council in Franklin County is currently conducting its annual election of council members.

Extension Council Chairman Bob Buxton encourages all to exercise their privilege of voting for the candidates of their choice in their district.

Ballots were mailed to county residents Jan. 3 and must be returned before Jan. 24 to be counted.

Each person of voting age who resides in the district is entitled to one ballot.

Additional ballots may be obtained by calling the Extension office at 636-583-5141, or by stopping by the office at 116 W. Main St. in Union between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

The Franklin County University of Missouri Extension Council is comprised of 19 elected and three appointed members. These volunteers are elected for a two-year term and are the governing board for University of Missouri Extension programs in Franklin County.

Their duties are to make recommendations and suggestions concerning extension programs, oversee local staffing, arrange and administer the county’s share of the cost of extension services and hold an annual election per state statutes.

Those running for the Franklin County University of Missouri Extension Council by voting districts in 2019:

District 1 (Boles and Calvey townships) — Steve Flannery, Fred Jeffery, Mike Schwoeppe and Jeff Weirich (vote for two);

District 2 (St. John’s and Washington townships) — Rachelle Elbert, Diane Holdmeyer, Beth Kleekamp and Doris Koch (vote for two);

District 3 (Boeuf, Lyon & New Haven townships) — Skip Buehrle and Mark Nienhueser (vote for one);

District 4 (Boone and Meramec townships) — Amy Bourland and Adam Hecht (vote for one);

District 5 (Union township) — Ken Rohrbach and Blake Voss (vote for one);

District 6 (Central and Prairie townships) — Robert Bardot Jr., Kathy (Bardot) Concienne, Sharon Helling and Dale DeWeese (vote for two).

People should vote only for the persons in their district.

University of Missouri Extension in Franklin County is an outreach program of the University of Missouri-Columbia.

Specialists in county Extension Centers extend the research and resources of the four University of Missouri campuses in Columbia, Kansas City, Rolla and St. Louis and of Lincoln University to you.