Voters in the Washington School District returned one incumbent to the school board and elected two new members in Tuesday's municipal election.

Scott Byrne was re-elected in voting Tuesday. The two new members are Rebecca Voelkerding and Susan Thatcher. 

They defeated Anton Hinrichs, Janie Chalem and Dan Haire in a six-way race for three board seats. 

The unofficial vote totals are: Byrne, 1,704; Voelkerding, 1,857; Thatcher, 1,342; Chalem, 1,038; Haire, 985; Hinrichs, 629.

The school district includes portions of Franklin, Warren and St. Charles counties.

In the only race for Washington City Council, Josh Brinker, incumbent, defeated Carolyn Witt to retain his Ward 4 seat for the next two years. 

The vote was 229 for Brinker and 160 for Witt. 

Countywide, voters soundly rejected adopting a local use tax by a vote of 5,075 no to 3,426 yes. 

Voters in the Scenic Regional Library District narrowly approved a 10-cent property tax increase. The vote was 3,850 yes to 3,573 no. 

For complete election coverage, see the Weekend Missourian.