Incumbent Ann Hartley and a new member, Dr. Joseph Stroetker, were elected to the East Central College board of trustees in the April 8 election.

Hartley, of Union, will continue to represent Subdistrict 2. She defeated challenger David Hood.

Hartley garnered 73 percent of votes, with a total of 4,259, compared to Hood’s 1,551.

Hartley said she’s pleased and excited with the results of the election.

“There is so much good going on with the college,” she said.

East Central College officials currently are working on the college’s strategic plan.

“I look forward to learning more about that and seeing what they’re planning long term, as well as what the board’s role will be to help facilitate and support the plan,” she said.

Hartley also looks forward to serving on the Missouri Community College Association board at the same time as she’s on the ECC board. She is a chair-elect to that board.

“It’s where we can advocate for better funding for community colleges,” she said.

Hartley said she is excited to watch the college grow and to get students interested in attending ECC, whether they start their college career there, just take a class or get their certification.

Hartley thanked those who supported her in the election.

In Subdistrict 1, Stroetker and Overhoff, both of Sullivan, were vying for the seat vacated by long-time trustee Charles Betz.

Stroetker defeated Overhoff with 2,846 votes, or 53 percent, compared to 2,480 ballots cast for Overhoff.

Stroetker said that if he had to do the election over, he would have campaigned a little harder, because the results were so close.

“I have met the other board members and President Jon Bauer, and I very much look forward to working with them,” he said. “I promise to work hard and strive to be the best trustee I can be.”

Stroetker said he would like to make sure the college continues its tradition of affordable excellence in education.

He also thanked those who voted in his favor.

ECC trustees serve six-year terms. The candidates will be sworn into office at the April 15 meeting of the board of trustees.