Father Mike Boehm

The Very Rev. Michael P. Boehm, V.F., pastor of Our Lady of Lourdes Parish, has been appointed dean of the Washington Deanery.

The appointment, made by Archbishop Robert J. Carlson, was effective Aug. 14 for a term of three years.

Father Mike replaces Monsignor Matthew Mitas, pastor of Immaculate Conception Parish in Union, as dean.

Vicars Forane, or deans, are priests who assist the archbishop in the administration of the archdiocese.

Each dean is responsible for a given deanery, or Vicariate Forane, which is a geographical subdivision of the archdiocese, and comprises the parishes within that area.

The initials, V.F., following the name of the dean indicates his status as a Vicar Forane.

Father Mike told The Missourian he is excited about the appointment.

As dean, he will be responsible for organizing and leading the deanery meetings which are held monthly during the school year. All priests and deacons within the deanery are invited to these meetings.

“The meetings are important because we keep each other informed about what’s going on in each of our parishes,” he said. “It’s a way to support each other, our parishes and Catholic education so we all continue to grow. It also facilitates good relationships between all of the priests and deacons.”

Father Mike will attend meetings with other deans in the St. Louis Archdiocese, led by the archbishop.

“It’s really a two-way street. I will bring back information to share and take any ideas to the archdiocese,” he said.

Additionally, Father Mike has been appointed to the Archdiocese Pastoral Council. He also just completed a two-year term on the Priest Council.

The Washington Deanery is comprised of the following parishes:

Assumption Parish, New Haven; Church of the Holy Martyrs of Japan, Japan; Holy Family, Port Hudson; Immaculate Conception, Augusta;

Immaculate Conception, Union; Our Lady of Lourdes, Washington; St. Ann, Clover Bottom; St. Anthony, Sullivan; St. Bridget of Kildare, Pacific;

St. Clare, St. Clair; St. Francis Borgia, Washington; St. Francis of Assisi, Luebbering; St. Gerald, Gerald; St. Gertrude, Krakow; St. Ignatius of Loyola, Concord Hill;

St. James, Catawissa; St. John the Baptist, Gildehaus; St. Joseph, Neier; St. Mary, Villa Ridge; St. Paul, Berger; and St. Vincent de Paul, Dutzow.