There are two races and two ballot questions that Union area voters will weigh in on Tuesday.

The Union R-XI ballot measure, Proposition KIDS, is an $8 million no-tax increase bond issue. That issue will affect the most area residents

Voters are being asked to approve a no-tax increase bond issue to fund capital projects. If approved, the existing tax rate is extended, but not increased.

The district plans to make major improvements at the three elementary schools, middle school, high school and the central office with bond monies.


Voters within the city limits will be asked if they would like to eliminate the elected collector position, and instead make the position appointed.

The city now contracts with Franklin County for its tax collection services.

City officials have said that this ballot measure would eliminate the need to hold an election for the position.

School Board

There are five candidates vying for two Union public school board of education seats.

Incumbents James Borgmann and Jennifer Slay will square off against newcomers Aaron Bockhorst, Donald “Doc” Quaethem and Karen Tucker.

The complete story is on

Bockhorst is a full-time firefighter with the city of Ferguson in St. Louis County. Bockhorst is a firefighter and emergency medical technician instructor at Jefferson College in Hillsboro and also teaches at the St. Louis County Fire Academy

Borgmann was elected to the board in 2010, but served on the Union School Board from 1988 to 2000. He has lived in the Union area all of his life, and has worked at Hall Bros. Lumber for 41 years.

Quaethem grew up in Labadie and graduated from Washington High School in 2000. After being in construction for 15 years, Quaethem is now working for a heating and cooling business in St. Louis. He is the neighborhood chairman of his daughters’ Girl Scout Troop and is active with their softball team.

Slay is seeking a second term on the board. She is the part-time executive director of Foundations for Franklin County, an administrative assistant at Scenic Regional Library and the leader of the community organization HOPE for Franklin County Coalition.

Tucker is a former Union teacher, assistant principal and principal, working for the district for 30 years before she retired in 2007. She was a speech and language therapist throughout the district and served in administration at Central Elementary.

City Board Race

Alderman Vicki Jo Hooper will face political newcomer Dennis Soetebier for the Ward 2 seat on the board of aldermen. Hooper will complete her first two-year term on the board in April.

Hooper is retired from East Central College. She has a degree in marketing and business from Webster University.

Soetebier is self-employed in the home improvement industry. He has a history in the construction field with Soetebier Construction, which focused on industrial, commercial and residential construction.

More information about the Ward 2 candidates is available on

Aldermen Dustin Bailey, Ward 3, and Karen Erwin, Ward 4, do not have challengers in the election.

There are no candidates on the ballot for the Ward 1 seat, but Alderman Jim Albrecht is campaigning as a write-in candidate.

Municipal Judge A. David Arand also has no opposition on the ballot.

Polling Places

Union Ward 1 — City Hall;

Union Ward 2 — St. Paul Lutheran Church;

Union Ward 3 — First United Methodist Church;

Union Ward 4 — East Central College;

Union out of town — Union Fire Station No. 1;

Prairie Dell — East Central College;

Beaufort-Lyon —Beaufort Lions Club;

Beaufort-Union — Beaufort Lions Club;

Leslie out of town — Leslie fire station;

Leslie Village — Leslie fire station;

Pea Ridge — Beaufort Lions Club;

Gildehaus — St. John’s-Gildehaus;

Jeffriesburg — St. Joseph Parish Hall.