Anna Davis receives her VIP certificate from St. Clair High School Principal Kevin Hillman during Thursday’s ceremony in the auditorium.

St. Clair High School Principal Kevin Hillman said the Renaissance Club’s VIP program is “about something great, about being great about doing great things.”

Last Thursday, 46 SCHS students were added to that “great” list as they received recognition through a ceremony in the SCHS auditorium.

The Very Important Person program honors students who are helping to make a difference in the hallways and classrooms of the high school. They have been called “the best of the best.”

The Renaissance Club sponsors the program and four times a year after every grading quarter, each SCHS teacher nominates one student to receive the recognition.

Students can be in any grade. They receive a certificate, T-shirt and pizza lunch.

“What an awesome achievement,” Hillman said of the students honored.

Hillman asked those in attendance how people become great.

“Is it just being better, or is there more to it?” he said.

The SCHS principal said “greatness” is easy to see in sports through dominant teams or athletes as well as in world leaders and other famous individuals who have made their mark through what they have accomplished.

He then mentioned Walt Disney.

“Why was he so great?” Hillman said. “He was told when he was younger that he had no imagination. Yet, he created an incredible world of technology and fascination.”

Hillman said SCHS students can do the same thing.

“Someone nominated you because they think you’re great or did something great,” he said. “And that is wonderful. But, how do you take that and go and do something even better?

“This (VIP recognition) is the base,” he said. “My hope is that you can take this and be even better. Be determined to stay on this path even if someone knocks you off of it.

“Have the desire to be better. Have the courage to do what needs to be done to be great. Have the discipline to stay in the path. Be resilient enough to get back on the path when you’re knocked off.”

He concluded his remarks by saying that there are more opportunities now than ever for students to achieve at higher levels, and the VIP recognition is a step in that direction.

“If you keep going, there’s no limit to what you can do,” he said.

The third-quarter VIPs are Eric Abernathy, Alex Bailey, Hollie Beck, Libby Bell, Tony Busby, Ayden Carey, Ryan Carson, Cody Chandler, Julia Click, Alicia Collings, Jennifer Cooksey, Megan Copeland, Alesia Cowsert, Kristy Cox, Anna Davis, Olivia Ealer, Madison Erbes, Chris Grgurich, Brandon Gullett, Emily Hardin, Abigail Hatfield, Freddy Hediger, Michaela Heembrock, Mason Helton, Karen Hill, Shayla Hinson, A.J. Hinson, Tiffany Hoemann, Caleb Howard, Skyler Hutchison, Makaela Kosatka, Kristen Krier, Kay Light, Katie Manion, Brittany McDaniel, Tyler McDermott, Jacob Meisel, Kwa Montowi, Jacob Muschany, Georgia Nevills, Jessica Nugent, Chiara Ogle, Emily Rogers, Paige Schmidt, Ally Smiley and David Webb.