The Washington Area Chamber of Commerce recognized its fifth class of Outstanding Young Professionals (OYP) at its annual member luncheon Monday.

A total of 12 professionals were honored at the program, held at the Knights of Columbus Hall.

Jennifer Giesike, Chamber president, gave the welcome and thanked the lunch sponsors and The Missourian, which cosponsors the young professional awards.

The invocation was given by Pastor Mark Bangert, Immanuel Lutheran Church.

George Meyer, Chamber board member, and Jane Haberberger, board chair, presented the awards.

Meyer asked all previous recipients of the Outstanding Young Professional Award to stand and be recognized.

This year’s class of Outstanding Young Professionals include three in education, two in the health care industry, one in banking and the others in a range of fields, including several who own their own business.

Young Professionals

The OYP awards were established in 2013 by the Chamber and The Missourian to recognize the up-and-coming generation of Washingtonians.

Including the Class of 2017, the Chamber has honored a total of 60 Outstanding Young Professionals.

A selection committee comprised of Chamber and Missourian representatives reviewed the nominations and made the selections.

The recipients had to be 40 years of age or younger at the time of nomination.

The OYP Class of 2017 includes:

Jon Ballmann — Ballmann Earthworks.

Stephanie Boland — NOA Medical Industries.

Chris Eckelkamp — Bank of Washington.

Bill Hellebusch — Mercy Hospital Washington.

Robert Jasper — St. Francis Borgia Regional High School.

Gregg Jones — Missourian.

Apryl Logan — WSFP/National Fire Suppression.

Elizabeth Mades — Washington School District.

Sal Maniaci — City of Washington.

Matthew Riechers — Riechers Tire & Auto.

Kelsey Scheer — Washington School District.

Savannah Wigger — Dreamtime Princess Events.

A special supplement, featuring the 2017 recipients and the businesses they represent, can be found in this issue of The Missourian.