The first countywide teen drug summit that encouraged students to never try drugs, “Not even once,” has been deemed a success by organizers.

Police Chief Matt Mansell said the Missouri Transportation Department will not lower the speed limit on a stretch of Route 66 that local officials feel is dangerous.


The Franklin County Sheriff’s Office is aggressively educating the public about the dangers of distracted driving as the number of fatal crashes climbs. 

A joint improvement project between MoDOT and the city of Pacific could see wider turning lanes on North First Street as it enters Osage that would improve traffic flow.


To narrow down the suspects from a May 6 bomb threat at Washington High School, investigators again reviewed surveillance footage from school hallways.

Pacific officials say they want the Brush Creek Sewer District to revisit its efforts to reduce stormwater infiltration into its main line and control the volume discharged into the Pacific sewer system.


School officials in Franklin County say they will be watching closely as the St. Clair School District implements a program to allow a limited number of faculty and staff to be trained to serve as armed protection officers.

At the May 7 regular meeting of Robertsville Masonic Lodge, Charles Alfred Watters was presented with his 50-year pin.

After more than 15 years of pleading for improvements on their street, residents of Candlewick Lane will see concrete trucks on their street in the coming weeks.

Kate Freitag, 18, senior at Washington High School, Missourian intern, was named the statewide winner of the It Can Wait (distracted driving) video contest, sponsored by Missouri Newspapers, the Missouri Press Association (MPA) and AT&T Missouri. 

  • Updated

Despite objections from a number of people at Monday’s board of aldermen meeting, Union aldermen voted to create a community improvement district (CID) to help fund a flood berm at Dickey Bub Farm & Home.

Washington High School Principal Dr. Kelle McCallum has been named the Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals (MoASSP) Exemplary New Principal of the Year for the South Central Region.