Two teams from Washington Middle School were among the 160 top middle school quiz bowl teams from across the country last weekend at the Hyatt Regency Dallas-Fort Worth competing in the 2017 Middle School National Championship Tournament.

Quiz Bowl is a competitive, academic, interscholastic activity for teams of four students. It is the national version of the game that is often locally called Scholar Bowl.

Quiz bowl teams use buzzers to answer questions about science, math, history, literature, mythology, geography, social science, current events, sports, and popular culture. The matches feature a blend of individual competition and team collaboration, since no individual player is likely to be an expert in all subject areas.

Participation in quiz bowl reinforces lessons from the classroom and encourages players to develop new intellectual interests.

Washington Middle School sent two teams to the 2017 MSNCT. The A team consisted of Kaleb Burr, Samantha Doepker, Michael Lampe and Zach Miesner. The B team consisted of Silas Clements, Evan Courtaway, Max Grimes, Katlynn Miller, Harsh Patel and Hayden Thiemann.

The teams were coached by David Dennis.

Only six teams from Missouri competed at the national championship.

Washington A finished the preliminary rounds with a 4-4 record. Washington B finished the preliminary rounds with a 1-7 record.

The B team played two games against opponents from near home. In round 6, the B team lost to West A 290-195. In round 12, the B team fell to West B 280-260.

There were some tense moments. The B team defeated Dodgen from Marietta, Ga., by the narrow margin of 255-240 during round 1; suffered a heartbreakingly narrow loss to Northwest Guilford from Greensboro, N.C., 275-260 during round 8; and suffered another narrow loss to West B, 280-260 during round 12.

Washington A’s shot at the playoffs ended when they lost to Holy Family from Austin, Texas, in round 10.

Washington B’s shot at the playoffs ended when they lost to Northwest Guilford from Greensboro, N.C., in round 8.

The A team finished in 65th place, the best performance by any team from Missouri at the 2017 MSNCT.

The tournament champion was Aptakisic Junior High School of Buffalo Grove, Ill.

The 2017 MSNCT field featured 160 teams from 23 states.